An Eating/Reading Review of I Have Some Questions For You

Gretchen Alice
2 min readJan 9, 2024
A picture of the book I Have Some Questions For You by Rebecca Makki surrounded by brownies, chocolate cookies, and podcast gear.

I Have Some Questions For You by Rebecca Makkai was one of the most interesting things I read last year. Bodie Kane is a well-known podcaster and professor. She gets called back to the boarding school of her youth to teach some two-week intensive courses and while her time at the school wasn’t great, she also can’t stay away. One of the students picks the podcast topic of the murder of Bodie’s former roommate back in the 90s and while the case is closed, the evidence was never that straight forward. As the inconsistencies pile up, Bodie starts to wonder about the role she played back then. I’m not much of a true crime person, but this story sucked me in and I couldn’t put it down.

Bodie spent some time with foster parents (sort of) who were Mormon and paid her way into Granby. During school orientation question games, when asked to name a food she missed from home, Bodie thinks, “Brownies, I always said, because the Mormons make excellent brownies.” This made me laugh out loud because it’s one of the truest things I’ve ever read. So brownies it was, this time with peanut butter M&Ms on top. I also made the malted chocolate cookies from Snacking Bakes, which are basically like the best chewy and salty brownies in cookie form. I definitely got my chocolate fix from this post.

--

--

Gretchen Alice

Public librarian, writer, and breakfast taco enthusiast. You can find me @eatingreading on Instagram.