Noodle Sandwich
1 min readJan 26, 2023

Why I Hate The Song “Death Bed (Coffee For Your Head)” By Powfu

Disclaimer: No offense to anybody who is a fan of Powfu or his song. This is just my opinion.

Have you heard of Powfu? He’s a Canadian rapper who released a song called “Death Bed (Coffee For Your Head)” in 2020. The song samples “Coffee For Your Head” by Beabadoobee. It’s about a guy who’s on his death bed and talking to his girlfriend. It was all over the radio when it came out, and I think it became part of a TikTok trend as well.

Here’s my problem: Powfu’s rapping is terrible. The only reason his song ever got popular is because of Beabadoobee’s sample, which was the only somewhat good part of the song. The lyrics and rapping combined also made it feel like some kind of neatly packaged “emo” song created to attract impressionable teenagers who fancy themselves “deep.”

The song also gave off the vibe of somebody appealing to emotions to make money. To make things worse, Powfu’s delivery of the lyrics, where he asserted he was dying and would miss his girlfriend, was so emotionless and bland, it felt like he didn’t really care. Like all of it was just a low-effort way to make a buck.

The three words I would use to describe this are callous, mediocre, and commercial.

Noodle Sandwich

I write when I'm bored. How do you get popular on here?