My Background

Griffin Poutre
3 min readAug 10, 2020

--

Welcome! My name is Griffin Poutre and I was born in Lewiston, Maine on March 5, 1997, to two loving parents, Tim & Wendy. My mother is also from Lewiston, and my father hails from Northeast Vermont. Both sides of my family have French Canadian roots. I grew up in Stratham, New Hampshire and I am proud to call the Seacoast Region of New Hampshire home. I attended Exeter High School in Exeter, New Hampshire, where I was elected President of my class during my Junior year. In this role, I oversaw fundraising and the procurement of donations for my class’ activities, including Junior Prom. I saw great success in reaching out to the community and local businesses for support, which helped save large amounts of money. I was also active in Track & Field and the EHS Swimming & Diving team, the latter of which won its first ever state title in 2013 (during my Sophomore year). I graduated in 2015. I am now a Senior at the University of New Hampshire in Durham, where I study Political Science.

In my spare time, I enjoy hiking, reading history books, and writing. I enjoy learning about the history of politics and power, from the Code of Hammurabi up to the present day. I am also quite interested in military strategy and how wars are won and lost, because many of the same principles can also be applied to modern campaign strategy. I believe that Hannibal Barca is one of the greatest strategic and logistical minds to ever walk the Earth.

Throughout my life, I have been very involved and invested in the U.S. political system. I first gained noteworthy experience in 2014 when I interned for the New Hampshire Republican State Committee and former U.S. Senator Scott Brown (R-MA). Brown was making a run for Jeanne Shaheen’s Senate seat in New Hampshire, but he lost the closely fought race. I have also worked for Young Americans for Liberty and have lent my hand volunteering for Rand Paul’s Presidential campaign in New Hampshire and Andy Sanborn’s congressional campaign in New Hampshire’s First Congressional District. Recently, I completed an internship with Eric Brakey’s campaign for Congress in Maine’s Second District, where I gained experience reaching out to rural voters, who are frequently ignored by political campaigns. Through these jobs and volunteer activities, I have gained extensive experience in canvassing, coalition building, retail politics, voter contact and get-out-the-vote efforts. I also have some limited experience in fundraising and list building.

My passion for politics stems from my commitment to my community, my state, and my country. For me, my community is what made me what I am today, and involvement in public affairs is a great way to give back to this great community. I strongly believe in civic engagement and responsible stewardship of one’s country.

For more information about me, please visit:

www.crunchbase.com/person/griffin-poutre

--

--

Griffin Poutre

Student at the University of New Hampshire studying Political Science & Government. Located in Newmarket, New Hampshire.