Hello, My Name Is…

Griep
3 min readMar 17, 2023

--

and it might be a pleasure to meet you….

Hello. There, I’ve gone and done it, I’ve been cordial. Extended the hand of friendship and opportunity. It’ll come with a price, if you stay and read; your time, your concentration, maybe some of your money, or maybe even your mind. But there, I’ve gone and done it, rambled on and forgotten to say, “My name is Griep, and its a pleasure to meet you” Now you might ask, who in the right mind would be named Griep, and the answer is simply, I am not, but that is OK. I’ve orbited around the sun some 37 times or so, hurling through space on a heavenly body as unique to the universe as I am to it. The speed at which we hurl through the vacuum of space is not the only reason my head spins. If you stick around and read long enough, you will find out why.
I have some experience writing, I’ve written my craziest darkest thoughts on scraps of paper and tattered pieces of napkins and beyond that I’ve written as a weekly newsletter for several years for my parents’ beyond organic farm in Northern Wisconsin. We provided a produce delivery service and I wrote about mine and farms to-dos, from that experience I’ve received plenty of positive feedback not just on the delivery service but the writing. Though the delivery service was discontinued and the farm letter with it, I’ve found myself missing the relentless rambling and the sharing of thoughts with a wide variety of wonderful folks. And so, in an attempt to do just that share; share my life, my experiences and my thoughts, I’ve taken on writing a couple of blogs in hopes of chasing something I’ve always found passion for and now and making more time for.
I grew up on a family farm and was born third out of the four kids that would grow up on that farm with me. An older brother and sister and one younger sister. My parents are two of the hardest working and down to earth folks that I have ever come across in all my days. We all worked hard together, played together and ate together each night alongside one another. It wasn’t always easy, but it was always worth it. Everything I learned there has been a foundation for the life I lead now and it makes me happy, even when things are rough, I am filled with the joy of having these problems to fix. From there it took me to college for video and motion graphics and during that time I did countless jobs, and mostly settled into working in kitchens, from the bottom rungs to the highest heights running my own show to owning my own business and watching it all come down again. I’ve farmed and I’ve farmed, and now, well now I work in retail. I’ve gone halfway crossed the world and back to come home to find the things out there were just more experiences for where I am now.
I have a beautiful, sassy and impossible to resist wife. Impossible to resist loving and annoying from time to time in a kinda asinine way, what can I say I am kinda of a masochist. When I opened my life to her, I opened my life to her three wonderful children and they have filled my life with adventure and love ever since. The oldest a boy going on fifteen, a twelve year old girl, and an 8 year old girl. We live in a small house with our two miniature dachshunds and we all make a go at this crazy thing called life everyday.
I hope to share with you all the stories of our day to day adventures as well as my own works of fiction. I will share old emails from the days on the farm and random things that pop into my mind.

Thank You All For Reading,

Thank You For Your Support and Your Subscription!

--

--

Griep
0 Followers

Farmer. Chef. Husband. Stepdad. Dog Owner.