Make Useful Notes. Start With Clear Goals.

A framework for taking smart notes. From Make Useful Notes.

Edmund Gröpl
2 min readOct 25, 2023
Sketchnote by author

“What is my goal?” was my first question. And I found a lot of answers or better to say a lot of ideas for the future. But a list of ideas isn’t a clear goal. John Doerr the author of “Measure what matters”[38], the famous book about goal-setting, helped me to sort my ideas with his amazing TED talk: „Why the secret to success is setting the right goals“[39].

My personal wish to set a goal for this year is to fully understand the principles of using a Zettelkasten.

Knowing my “why” [40], I want a book written about “Taking Useful Notes.” Framing the work of writing as a learning problem and use it for teaching will improve my effectivity of learning.

What are your wishes and objectives? Writing a weekly newsletter, a blog post or preparing a business presentation? Or do you want start with your master thesis?

My Zettelkasten hint: Use templates and tagging to organize your goal related notes. But first, read more about these principles in the next chapters.

[38] John, Doerr. Measure What Matters: OKRs: The Simple Idea That Drives 10x Growth. Portfolio Penguin, 2018.

[39] Why the Secret to Success Is Setting the Right Goals | John Doerr | TED, 2018. Why the secret to success is setting the right goals | John Doerr | TED — YouTube

[40] Sinek, Simon. Start with Why. Penguin Books Ltd, 2011. https://openlibrary.org/books/OL27279072M/Start_with_Why.

Thanks very much! I really appreciate you reading my work. If you enjoyed it and found it useful, you might also like the related book “MAKE USEFUL NOTES. A simple guide to a complex skill by using Sketchnotes, Obsidian and Zettelkasten”. Here’s your free copy

--

--

Edmund Gröpl

Data Scientist and Data Storyteller. Talks about #smartsketchnotes and #datastories. https://linktr.ee/groepl