On Birding

C. Bailey
2 min readDec 4, 2023

--

I did not set out to become a bird feeder/watcher. I heard someone say that as you get older you just one day realize that you enjoy watching birds.

The one day for me was my cats. Dabo and Max enjoy watching birds at the window. Thinking I could enhance their life, I bought a small window bird feeder to give them some entertainment. Of course that feeder did not fit our window. I replaced that with a small feeder with a cage for suet, a tray for seeds or worms, and a fountain. I get a steady convoy of Tufted Titmice, Chickadees, occasionally a Dove, Cardinals, Wrens, Thrashers, and a variety of woodpeckers. Seriously, it took just a few days for the birds to figure the feeder out and now they visit daily.

Keef is more than willing to pose.

But the real reward was my bird friend. Those of you who watch The Righteous Gemstones may understand why we decided to call the Eastern Phoebe who has adopted me Keef. Keef started by just flying up and looking for food. I began hand-feeding him mealworms and we forged quite a bond. He visits at least two times a day. He eats mealworms until he is full and then he flies away. That's the end of the transaction. His visits have enhanced my days. I worry on days when I miss an interaction. He flies to the window when he sees me walk by. We are completely codependent.

Bonner Black is a birder too. Her new song kicks ass

--

--

C. Bailey

The first name isn't important, most people don't ever call me that. I am a former PR guy and reporter and now I teach people to shoot and move the Tide.