The “Make Me Smart” Question: A Face to face with your own growth

G. Ayo Sopitan
3 min readJan 13, 2018

--

Make Me Smart is an American Public Media podcast that has become one of my favorite podcasts. It is unpretentious, layered and full of useful conversations about a variety of topics. I like the hosts Kai Ryssdal and Molly Wood

On each episode, the hosts ask what is known as the “Make Me Smart” question. The question goes something like “What’s something you thought you knew, but later found out you were wrong about?”

I love this question because it causes one to introspect and think deeply. What you find at the end of your contemplation is a tangible example of your own evolution. You come face-to-face with your growth.

My Answer

As an undergrad at Bryant University, I saw a sort of school spirit poster on the wall with the University’s mascot on it and the words “Choice, not chance determines your destiny” printed in bold font.

This had a profound effect on me. Put in other words, this quote meant we can all make the choice to succeed. We can do the right things and the right things will happen for us. I felt like I was making the right choices and I was therefore destined for something great so I agreed with the poster. For many years after graduating, I kept this phrase in my head as almost a guiding principle. It was in my email signature (yes, I was that guy. PS: If you still have some corny self-help quote in your signature, delete it. Thanks).

Realizing I was wrong

This “every one can pull themselves up by the bootstraps” worldview was challenged when I met people who had no boots. For instance, I met people who had no idea how to pursue college admission. All they knew was how to apply to be a garbage man (no offense to garbage men).

It turns out that there are many people that don’t have choice. Very many people. If by the accident of birth i.e. chance, you were born in North East Nigeria, to poor parents, you have a limited range of choices to make in order to determine your destiny and push yourself towards a positive outcome.

Put a different way, the path to Harvard College (or any college for that matter) for Ahmed from Yola Nigeria is much longer, treacherous and potentially nonexistent than for Chad from Greenwhich Connecticut or Edward from Kensington London. Ahmed could be an intelligent hard worker but he may never have heard of Harvard College for instance.

I worked as a Mentor in a New York City program that connected high school kids to mentors. I met a young man who seriously knew as a matter of fact that his two options after high school was jail or the frontline in the military. He lived within a mile of Columbia University but had never once considered college as an option.

This young man was a victim of circumstances that were far outside of his control and those circumstances are a direct result of where and to whom he was born.

Understanding this forces us to leave room for context when evaluating outcomes and life choices made others seem to be making. It might even make you less likely to be too hard on yourself.

By the way, I think everyone should listen to the Make Me Smart Podcast. It is absolutely worth it.

--

--

G. Ayo Sopitan

Nigerian. Immigrant. Black guy. World Citizen. Traveler. Investor. Technology guy. Continuous Learner. Curious Cat. Hobbyist.