Gulnaz Iftikhar
3 min readMar 10, 2016

A Visit to Arfa Karim Tower for Informational Interview

Arfa Software Technology Park is an information technology park in Lahore,Punjab, Pakistan, built in 2009. On 15 January 2012, Chief Minister of Punjab Mian Shahbaz Sharif announced a name change of Software Technology Park to Arfa Software Technology Park after World’s youngest Microsoft Certified Professional Arfa Karim, who died at the age of 16.

As I’m a Software Engineer. So, I decided to visit the Arfa Software Technology Park for an Informational Interview that is a meeting in which a potential job seeker seeks advice on their career, the industry, and the corporate culture of a potential future workplace; while an employed professional learns about the job seeker and judges their professional potential …

I didn’t know somebody there. Due to which, I found the Official number from Google of ASTP. I called at that number, told the reason behind the call and requested that Guy to held the Informational Interview for me. Fortunately, that guy said OKAY and I got the permission to visit there. Then I went there with a lot of Questions that I had in my mind :

1- What was your title when you first started here?

2- What precisely do you do? What are the duties/functions/responsibilities of your job?

3- How much job security do you have in this position?

4- What kind of hours do you normally work?

5- Do you have to put in much overtime or work on weekends?

6- What are the various jobs available in this field?

7- What types of training do companies offer those who enter this field?

8- Can you estimate future job openings?

9- What parts of the country offer the best opportunities in this field?

10- What is the typical entry-level salary in this field?

11- What are the salary ranges for higher levels in this occupation?

12- What skills or personal characteristics do you feel contribute most to success in this industry?

13- What are the typical entry-level job titles and functions?

14- What entry-level jobs offer the best opportunities for the greatest amount of learning?

15- What kinds of people experience the greatest success in this field?

16- What is the most important thing that someone planning to enter this career should know?

17- What are the educational, requirements for this job?

18- What other types of credentials are required?

19- How important are grades/GPA for obtaining a job in this field?

20- Pick & Drop facility is provided to Females or not ?

These were all the questions that I had in my mind. when I reached there I met the Guy who made a Telephonic conversation. His name was Awais. He works there in FCC Room in ASTP. As he knew about the purpose of reaching there but he was unable to answer my All questions, that’s why he provide me all the Information of Software Houses that was there. And permit me to visit Microsoft Innovation Center (MIC), Tower Technologies, Ebryx, PITB, ITU and Ilma soft for getting the answers and to know more about the Organizations in a well manner with his Assistant. I visited the Organizations one by one, and they treated and guided me in a well manner. After that I came back to FCC Room and I was surprised to see that the Tea was waiting there for me. I took the Tea and said a bundle of Thanks to Sir Awais, and came back to home. Those were the wonderful Informational Interviews.

A bundle of Thanks to read my Blog.

Should You have any Query ? Lemme know please !

Best Regards
Gulnaz Iftikhar