Medium Recommend - ‘ed’

Recommending on Medium

Gur Aman Mehta
2 min readJul 8, 2013

Medium “Recommend” Button is something which is the most understated object on the entire page of a Medium Post.

Recommend Tab at bottom of a Medium Post

So what is so special to it? It certainly is a nice inbuilt feature which most readers overlook despite finding a post of valuable nature. I myself used to miss it till the day I first posted on Medium. I eagerly waited to see how many people read my post on Dashboard in Stats. But the most important thing to me was how many of them Recommended it. Happily/Sadly the no. of reads ticked its way upward but Recommended block remained a blank. It was confusing but I guess I figured it out lately.

I realized Recommending was something I rarely did while reading the post. What I did(and still do) was saved it to POCKET app on my phone. Henceforth I made it a habit to recommend posts which are really good or atleast the ones I found interesting and want to be read by all before landing them on Pocket.

A tiny gesture of ours changes Recommend to something marvellous like this.

The joy of finding in our mailbox that somebody recommended our post is just awesome and far better than those random likes on our Facebook posts. (Pheww..Facebook was much easier.)

You might realize this nifty phenomenon more, say when you write something yourself on Medium, just as it was with me. Recommends are tiny fun bubbles that pop up to bring joy to both the wandering readers and impatient writers.

So all you amazing readers and writers keep recommending when you really want to spread the same tickling feeling you got by reading a post.

--

--