Lighthouse Labs (LHL) Data Flex 2024

Gurmol Singh
3 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

Tech Programs in Calgary:

Reflection:

This was my 4th bootcamp that I did in addition to Amii, Npower Canada and SAIT! I really like data analytics and wanted a way to upgrade my technical skills! This bootcamp focused on sql, statistical modelling with python, API’s, as well as a capstone project. I prefer bootcamps because you can also gain networking and work experience alongside them!

I chose LHL because I have seen the grads attain success and work at various startups and i felt that they had a good brand name! I had several colleagues complete their programs and saw their motivations! Their Alumni always come back to do workshops and it is a great community to be a part of!

My goals for the program were to develop more coding skills, gain access to a cohort who was technically strong. Work in partnership companies and see if I can potentially get funding to go to various paid events and meet other Lighthouse grads in the community!

I chose the flex program over immersive because I was working at Neo finanical part time during the program and wanted to gain work experience so when I graduate I can cover both education and work experience in my resume! It helped me to do coffee chats with the data, operations, fraud teams as well as make various projects!

I liked that there were 4 projects, there was asynchronous learning, and that there were mentors there for support! I enjoyed debugging and troubleshooting as well as doing the coding challenges!

I attended many events during the program in the tech community at Platform Calgary, with Innovate Calgary, the Data community as well as at the Petroleum club! I did use larry bot a lot to get support from mentors and made lots of assistance requests!

A day in the life was going to lectures Tuesday and Thursdays from 6–8pm online, working over the weekend to get caught up on the content and create projects! Having a discord group with colleagues to discuss potential pitfalls and have a sense of support and community! There was a lot of work but it was fun to do, some projects were harder then others like the API project with API requests running out or not knowing what to ask in the SQL project to gain insights! There was a balance of downtime vs worktime, the immersive program seemed more intensive and required more use of time. The flex program allowed you to get a balance with work and was a couple weeks longer then the other program!

My experience:

👉 This program was very intensive, resulting in 4 projects, technical assessments and a final presentation that I delivered for demo day! I couldn’t have done it without my special “Data Divas Group members’’ — Joline Duong, Kingsley Enwemiwe, Nickolas Stello, Steven Brewer, Zach Rosenthal, Hafith Moallin. After an overwhelming journey of debugging, troubleshooting, deployment not working, I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve successfully graduated from the Careers in Energy, a division of Energy Safety Canada Flex program!

It was a great journey and I had 2 live coding rounds of interviews and assessments that passed technical tests! Since then I have completed 3 more assessments from various companies related to machine learning, excel and SQL!

Next Steps:

  1. Continue gaining cloud certifications
  2. Developing projects in:
    -fraud/anomaly detection
    -loss forecasting
    -customer segmentation
    -profitability analysis
    -credit risk forecasting
  3. Leetcode/hackerrank/code chef
  4. Developing roadmaps for product management, cloud solutions roles, business analyst roles
  5. podcasts with Rainforest Alberta

Thanks for reading folks :)

--

--

Gurmol Singh

Biologist pivoted into Data Analysis, currently doing a variety of hackathons and sharing my data science journey! https://www.linkedin.com/in/gurmol-s/