Visual NoteTaking by a beginner… Not simple!

Gwen Dja
2 min readDec 6, 2019

--

Let’s be honest! Everyone drew during school years in boring classes to spend time and everyone knows how to take notes but here we are combining both.

Here writing about her experience on UI/UX.

Source: Danyadsmith.tumblr.com

What is visual notetaking or Sketchnote?

Visual notetaking or Sketchnote is a method use during meetings, presentations, lectures to attract attention and focus on essentials ideas.

With drawings, colors, pictogram… you can easily send a clear and effetive message, futhermore your message is easily memorized and shared.

Exercise 1 of my UI/UX Design Bootcamp is visual notetaking while watching a Ted Talk. I chose “The 4 superpowers of design” by Kevin Bethune.

First try, I watched the video in one take and… Sketchnoting is not simple! I concentrated myself by doing more textual notes than visual notes. There is no pictures because I didn’t like it.

Second try, I decided to take my time and pause the video several times! As you can see (picture above), I used a portrait format to write top to bottom my ideas with a black thin pen. I am not completely satisfied…Yes, I got the 4 big ideas but I missed some parts said by Kevin Bethune.

Third and final result! This time, landscape format with more colors, differents fonts, drawings… I did a better work, I added the missing parts but as the old saying goes, “Rome was not built in a day”!

I will continue to train myself in sketching and visual notetaking during my bootcamp but also in journaling my life.

Follow me on my day as a future UI/UX designer!

More visual notes by my classmates:

Pierre Etryhard Christophe Charriton- Cecilia

--

--