From a mom with 3 trans of 4 children

Gwen Giffen
1 min readJun 30, 2022

--

There is little so disillusioning for a child than to hear a parent complain about them to others, especially on sensitive topics. As a mother of three trans children who are all now completely out, asking others to use correct pronouns and chosen names protects my children, and is respectful to them. Those who intentionally misgender my children are going to see much less of them, but also of me.

I’m tired.

This is our lives; our continual existence and that is not going to change. So we change what we are able to, in order to exist in some normalcy and pleasantness within our own pod. We seek to exist without a barrage of cliches of questions and comments. Reactions become so old and repetitive.

Political arguments against LGBTQ — let’s just say, “Please go away.” I mean it. Go away.

Listen the first time. Educate yourselves. Engage yourselves.

--

--

Gwen Giffen

I enjoy writing about history, genealogy, people, human and livestock health care, plants, pets, social justice, LGBTQ issues, and Quaker history.