About Me

Get to know a little bit more about me: Graham W Wöbcke

Firstly — thank you for taking the time to read all of my articles/stories here on Medium and an extra special thanks to anyone who has clapped/liked the stories they have read and enjoyed.

I will do my best to present this similarly to any other FAQs I might otherwise write. It makes it easier for the various government agencies to collate my data too.

General and Family

How do you pronounce your surname?

My surname is pronounced “Veb-Key”. The surname originates from a northern Germany region right near the Danish border called Schleswig-Holstein. In Australia, due to various issues and technical difficulties with computer systems prior to UTF-8 adoption, the family name is rarely written with the o umlaut character “ö” on documentations — but instead is written with a regular latin “o”.

Why do you use “W” between your first name and last name?

It’s the first initial of my middle name — William — plus I choose to use it to distinguish myself from my father whom I am named after and it’s my preference to be known this way instead of being known as Graham William II.

Where were you born?

I was born in the year of 1972 in Brisbane, Australia.

Are you married? Do you have any children?

Yes, I married Teena in 2002 — she is a strong woman and an amazing mother. We have three children together – Violet (9), Vincent (6) and Veritee (4).

Where do you live now?

In Sydney, Australia — I moved here in 1995.

Do you have any pets?

I myself have a pet Galah. I have written two Galah FAQs here on Medium which seem to be well received. My children also have a mini-lop rabbit which is a lovely animal.

What social media do you use and how can we contact you?

I am really only active on Reddit and I visit Twitter maybe once a week. Other profiles I have include Pinterest, Facebook and LinkedIn — but I rarely login and use those accounts. The best way to get in touch with me is probably via my About Me profile page

What are two things no one would ever guess about you without knowing you?

  1. I rarely drink beer now. I used to drink Guinness during my college study years but now I mostly avoid it except for Chimay. I much prefer a decent Bourbon or a good Whisky — I’m also quite fond of Vecchia Romagna Brandy.
  2. During my teenage years in the 1980s I was an avid cyclist where I used to ride around 40km (25 miles) a day just for fun. I was hit by a car in 1989 while cycling – the car did not stop either after hitting me. I was concussed for 5 hours and I lost a lot of blood (and memory) from that trauma. I now have to deal with 3 permanent compression fractures in my vertebrae which limits the activities I can do.

Why do you write articles on Medium?

I am using the Medium platform for two reasons: I just want to write without needing to worry about maintaining web code (my day job), and I wanted to use a platform that was good for writing AND reading content.

The reasons why I write articles is so I can record my thoughts and experiences and share them with others if they are interested in those topics – plus I also find writing quite therapeutic.

What devices that are not retro systems do you actively use today?

I am currently using a Lenovo Yoga 720 Ultrabook running Windows 10 and a Raspberry Pi 3 running Raspbian — as well as an Apple iPad. I currently use two mobile phones — an iPhone SE and a BlackBerry KeyOne for my work.


Favorites

What are you favorite meals/foods?

I am quite font of good sandwiches — Reuben’s are an old favorite of mine, and I also really enjoy grilled cheese with chopped chicken on rye and eggs, mayonnaise and Tabasco on anything. Other than sandwiches, all Japanese food appeals to me, as well as any Italian and Mexican food my wife makes — plus I enjoy a good curry.

What music do you enjoy?

I enjoy many types of music — mostly alternative and classic rock — but I also enjoy contemporary jazz, blues, electronic pop and drum ‘n’ bass.

Here are the six studio albums that I could not live without:

  • Copper Blue — Sugar
  • Twentysomething — Jamie Cullum
  • Violent Femmes — Violent Femmes
  • Timeless — Goldie
  • Hysteria — Def Leppard
  • Saturation — Urge Overkill

Here are the six compilation/live albums I could not live without:

  • X X Years — The Young Gods
  • White Heat: 30 Hits — Icehouse
  • Very Best Definitive Ultimate Greatest Hits Collection — Faith No More
  • VH1 Storytellers — Billy Idol
  • Live At The Olympic Grand Auditorium — Rage Against The Machine
  • Mothership — Led Zeppelin

Lastly, KISS — one of the most influential bands for me personally and my favorite KISS album is actually a Bootleg — Goodbye To Cobo: Kiss Alive 35


Travel, Hobbies and Interests

What hobbies/interests do you have?

During any spare time I have I enjoy playing drums, watching baseball, going swimming and lastly – writing about and/or using 8-bit and 16-bit systems.

I am also an avid podcast listener and I have aspirations to one day make a show of my own or at least be invited to be a guest on a few. You can read all about the podcasts I enjoy here.

When did you start playing drums?

I started playing drums in 1984 and I have played shows for two bands, one of them being a Kiss covers band which you can hear below:

You mentioned Baseball above – which Baseball team(s) do you follow?

My favorite Baseball team is the LA Dodgers and my son prefers the St Louis Cardinals — so we almost always watch games from both teams together which is great. We both also enjoy watching the Cincinnati Reds and the LA Angels too.

Hang on, your Australian — why do you like Baseball so much and shouldn’t you be into something like Cricket?

I dislike Cricket so much, even writing this small sentence about it is making me cringe. I played Tee-Ball in primary (elementary) school and I enjoyed that a lot – so from Tee-Ball I progressed into Baseball. Other sports I played during my high school years included Volleyball, Basketball and Tennis which I first started playing when I was 6 years old.

Where have you and/or your family traveled to?

At the moment with 3 younger children, nearly all travel is based in Australia except if it’s for my work. Places I have been outside of Australia include the North Island of New Zealand, Fiji, Hong Kong and South Africa.

I really want to visit Japan, Italy, Germany, France and the US one day — and I want to take all the family on safari in Africa as well.


Qualifications and Work

What are your qualifications?

I graduated in 1993 with a Diploma of Business and Computing. I also studied and passed the CN999 Instructor Skills TAFE course which then opened up some opportunities for me to teach.

What kind of work do you do now?

I currently manage a Web Development Team of 9 staff members while still being hands on in some of the code. I particularly enjoy using JavaScript.

What other work have you done?

I have done some interesting things including being a teacher/tutor at two TAFE colleges, a technical writer and an Intranet Developer and Administrator. If you are interested in this then it’s probably easier to just view my LinkedIn profile.

Oh so you are a Web Developer? I have this website which…

I am really only interested in writing articles on Medium and spending time with my family, friends and my hobbies/interests after my work hours. Sorry.


If you feel it’s worthwhile, please leave any comments you have about this. Thanks very much for reading.