I want to become a leader, not a follower.

Gyan Prakash Mishra
3 min readMar 2, 2024

--

<Hi/>

This article is about my personal life experiences, what I think, and how I achieved. I believe it can also help others. I’ve chosen small events that proved to me that whenever I decide something, I can achieve it and how the universe helps me get there.

When I was in 1st grade, my father admitted me to a convent school. Before that, I was in an RSS Hindi medium school. The first day at the new school was a completely different environment. Everyone spoke English, every book was in English, even the teachers spoke English. It was all new to me. The system and culture were different, and I was confused about how I would survive. Everyone seemed smarter than me, and I felt like I knew nothing.

On the first day, I sat on the last bench and spent the whole day there. I didn’t even go out to drink water because I didn’t know how to ask the teacher in English. But after three days, I made a friend who was also poor in English and studies. I asked him how to ask the teacher to go out of the class, and he taught me the phrase, “May I go to drink water?” I learned this sentence in a whole day, and I suffered a lot. But in my house, everyone’s expectations were high, especially my father, who wanted me to top my class. But here, I couldn’t even read books properly. It was very challenging.

I noticed that many students on the back bench were like me, which gave me some confidence. But I wanted to sit in the front bench. To achieve that, I had to get a good rank in my class, which was very tough for me.

There was a boy named Raj who was very good in studies. He always got the 1st rank in class and had good friends. I tried to talk to him and make friends, but he always ignored me. Personally, I was very good in math. One day in math class, the teacher asked a question that even Raj couldn’t solve, but I knew the solution because I always solved math questions, even in English or any other period. I stood up and gave the answer. That day was very special for me because my math skills came in handy.

From the next day, Raj started showing interest in me. So, I started following Raj completely. I started studying just like him, sitting with him, and leaving some of my friends. I revised with him and studied during lunchtime. When the exams came, I got the 65th rank out of 80, and Raj got the first rank.

I was completely surprised. I studied the same way as Raj, took guidance from him, and even did well in exams. Then I realized I was just following Raj, giving my 100% in copying him, but not in studying and doing something extra for myself, something different from him.

From the next night, I thought about it all night. The next day, I completely changed my plan. I went back to the last bench with my friend and started making my own plan. For three months, I followed my plan and focused on my weaknesses. Then, in the next March session exam, I got the 2nd rank, and Raj got the first again.

I was happy because no one guided me, and my intentions were not to beat Raj. Even if I got any rank, it should be according to my plan. Also, my friend (whose name I’m not mentioning because he also read this story) improved his rank from 79 to 34.

That day, I learned many lessons. Anything you want, follow it yourself. Take guidance, but do it according to your own plan, and never copy anyone to become like them.

So, what’s the moral of the story? Simple: don’t just follow the leader, become one. Take guidance, sure, but make it your own. And remember, the only person worth emulating is the person you strive to become.

Stay tuned for more tales of triumph and transformation. Until next time, keep leading the way!

--

--