Sara Fellers
2 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Welcome to my childhood. 🫡
I had night terrors for years. The great gift I have in a vivid, constantly 'on' imagination is a curse when darkness hides things.

I'll still have the occasional nightmare and that's after my taking the bull by the horns at 14 years old and repeatedly exhausting myself into dreamless sleep.
I still can't watch any horror movies and I still can't do horror amusement rides/parks etc.
And I still have to be careful what I read, even.
But after months of fighting, it did finally get better.

Though the occasional one I get is - well, really graphic and bad. That last nightmare I had - I was back in the hospital, only was because there was something wrong with my heart. The doctors said that it would explode if it stayed in my body, so, while I was awake in this nightmare, they cut into me, took out my heart, and put it in a box - with the veins and everything still attached to keep me alive.

I was so terrified when I woke up I was dizzy and I literally felt an ache in my chest. And that's one of the tamer nightmares I've had compared to the ones where I've died, lost everyone I loved, was trapped with ghosts or undead - just awful, confusing, horrifying nightmares that I think I actually got kicked out of a discord group for disclosing once.

Anyway I'm so sorry you had to deal with this! Nightmares and night terrors are the worst. 😢 I hope you were able to catch up on some rest when you got to your new home (since you had just moved, right?)

--

--

Sara Fellers

All welcome! 💖 Mermaid, aspiring novelist, music and nature lover, muser, TV nerd & occasional poet & gamer. I have BA in anthro, but my heart led me beyond.