Here’s what happened after I did 1000 squats…

Hnsn
2 min readDec 16, 2023

--

A guy doing squats | Credit to: GymPaws

I was doing 1000 squats back in 2020. The reason I did is because I used to skip leg day, which is my biggest crime I’ve done. So I started to train legs and few months later I got bored with my routine so I decided to do something fun by doing the 1000 squats challenge during the lockdown (I was 17 and bored with my life so yea that’s why).

In the first few weeks, both my legs and lower back were sore. The next day, though, my legs felt like bricks, my whole body felt much heavier than usual compared to my 1000 push ups challenge. Despite the fatigue, I pushed through.

To stay consistent, I added a twist: squatting while arranging a deck of cards, inspired by Mike Tyson’s prison workout. It worked. Around 4-5 weeks in, I noticed gains – muscle mass, strength, and endurance. Surprisingly, I even broke my own time record, from over 45 minutes to finishing the squats in less than 30 minutes.

The momentum was real until I hit the 5-week mark. I started to add weights, a modest 20 kg, but the pain and intensity is crazy when you doing past 65+ without stopping.

Despite the struggle, the results were undeniable. Muscle mass increased faster than my previous 1000 push-up challenge. But did my leg grow like a bodybuilder? Of course not, but I did get to improve my size, strength and endurance. But then I stopped after I add weights which my limit is only 300–500 a day at least. Fast forward to 2023, I change it again. I incorporate weights, explosives and kicks. The reason is now I focus on my martial arts performance so I can improve rapidly before the next upcoming event. But still I keep my repetition total of at least 200–300 minimum.

So here I am, reflecting on a journey that took my legs from sore to strong. The 1000 squats challenge taught me the importance of pushing limits, listening to my body, and exploring what my body can do. Do I recommend it? Not really especially if you’re a beginner. You want to build your way up starting from your lowest to 1000 and add rest day if necessary.

--

--

Hnsn

Just love to share some of my personal workout story. Uncover some physical training such as martial arts documentary. Discover insane training regiments.