Goldie Trojan
Apr 26, 2024

--

Thank you so much! She always kept her Jewish roots hidden - can't really blame her for that. It wasn't something to be flaunting even after the war, during the communist era. She used to mention to my older cousin that one day, when we were older, she would tell us "a secret about our family." She died before she had the chance to.

My dad, on the other hand, often mentioned that "way back when" we were Jews... he wasn't religious at all - it was more of a fun fact for him...

but it was not until I started a genealogy dig on my family that I descovered that the "way back when" was his grandmother - who came from a prominent familly of Lithuanian Jews. I connected with a couple of more distant descendands from that branch over the years, sharing information on our mutual search for our roots.

--

--

Goldie Trojan

I love stories, mostly true or realistic fiction. I write stories, mostly true or realistic fiction.