Haley Stomp
5 min readJun 15, 2021

Finding My Next Job: Hooked On A Feelin’

By Haley Stomp

I’ve done a lot of unpaid and important work the last several months to determine my ideal career move. It’s fun to imagine a new horizon, a new course with exciting views and stops. I’ve pictured myself as an artist living on a beach in Portugal, a novelist living on a beach in Florida and an anthropologist working in a museum in Washington, D.C. (not that far from the beach). I’ve eliminated chef and medical school and anything that requires being inside a rocket or submarine. I don’t think living on a tour bus is good for my family at this point, and I’m not currently known for staying up past ten (never mind the lack of an actual music career).

Happen To Your Career (on purpose)

So how am I narrowing it down? First, I’m working with Mo, my excellent career coach. I was partnered with Mo through an organization called Happen To Your Career, which I found through their efficient SEO (search engine optimization, or simply, good Google strategy). I suggest checking out the free podcasts with Scott, the founder and CEO. Mo continues to be patient, but directional, with me as I navigate through uncertain waters.

A Better Life (on purpose)

One thing that is working for me is to think of this process as intentionally designing my life with the next ten years in mind. I am focusing on the whole picture, not just a job title or an idea of what I think I should be doing. I’m also trying to incorporate some of my actual skills and not the ones I’ve imagined from watching movies or staying at a Holiday Inn Express. I’m answering these (mostly) simple statements:

  1. This is what I enjoy
  2. This is what I don’t enjoy
  3. This energizes me
  4. This doesn’t energize me
  5. This fits my ten-year vision
  6. This doesn’t fit my ten-year vision
  7. This is healthy for me and my family
  8. This isn’t healthy for me and my family

I am embracing the no-judgment zone for myself and trying my best to give honest answers. I’m working to avoid things that don’t serve me, like the following questions:

1. What is the most impressive move I could make?

2. How will I make the most money?

3. What will I do to show everyone they are ninny-headed, mouth-breathers compared to my most excellent adventure?

I’ve learned that these questions lead me down the wrong path. They are more focused on feeding my ego than helping me find my joy.

This journey is about being true to myself, which means not trying to prove myself to others with my job title. Instead I’m slowing down and paying attention to what feels right and what excites me. Mo and I agreed I’m looking for a feeling, not a job title.

Mo’ Research

I’ve been a book-reading and podcasting hound the last few months. Here are a few books, and one must-have podcast, that have helped me start the more deliberate process of designing my life, instead of letting it drag me down the road like empty soup cans tied to a “just married” car (this might be too much of Gen-X/Boomer reference. If so, google it. It was a thing.):

Books that give you a process and some guidelines on evaluating and taking action:

  • Designing Your Life by Bill Burnett and Dave Evans
  • The Build A Bigger Life Manifesto by Adam Carroll
  • Mindset by Dr. Carol S. Dweck

My go-to podcast to feed my mind and soul while my celebrity “friend” with a cool Texas accent keeps me company on long walks is

Unlocking Us by Brene Brown (on Spotify).

Books to help you think bigger and open up to the possibilities, while leaving room for divine intervention (I think I read each of these in less than twenty-four hours):

  • Love Does by Bob Goff
  • The Surrender Experiment by Michael A. Singer

Fiction books that help you imagine change when things are not so good, get really screwed up and finally, get better when the hero takes brave action and things work out better than you imagined:

  • Any book by Maria Semple — This is more for you middle-aged mothers and wives. I’d start with Where’d You Go, Bernadette.
  • The Financial Lives Of The Poets by Jess Walter — Mr. Walter is an excellent writer. The hero is going through a career change, and this story gets crazier as he gets more desperate; I like the feeling at the end that it’s all going to be OK even though it was a giant mess. Plus, you’ll probably end up feeling better about your life.

Really Cool People

I have a goal to meet with at least two really cool people every week. It is a fun challenge to find new people to have coffee or get on a call, even one of those dreaded video calls. I have met so many interesting people, and I am blown away by the generosity of others who are willing to share an hour with me. I am grateful for the new connections, new ideas and advice and the company. Lots of really cool people are out there if you look.

Life Is Good

With a few months of research, I’ve created new space in my mind and a new vision of my life; I’m learning a ton about myself and having to be honest about some hard questions. I’m also gaining knowledge about many new things — writing, what a Fractional CMO does, the start-up world, consulting, social media trends and how many books I can stack on my night stand before the tower falls. I’m carrying forward the things that have served me well in my career so far, and I’m letting go of the things that no longer serve me. I’m even starting to talk to people about exciting new opportunities that have real potential to align with my needs. When I choose my next role, I’m going to be sad to tell this discovery phase goodbye, but I look forward to taking everything I’m learning into the next phase with purpose and confidence to make a difference.

Haley Stomp

Hi! I’m a business consultant and Midwest mom writing about life, work and travel. I value how writing connects and challenges us.