Here’s the most important writing tip

Habiba Lotfy
5 min readMay 22, 2023

--

garetsvisual from Freepik

If you’ve ever felt discouraged by low engagement and views on your writing, you’re not alone.

In this article, we’ll explore the power of consistency and reader engagement, and how it helped me overcome my doubts and continue to share my work on Medium. Let’s get started.

barudakvisual from Freepik

"I will no longer post on Medium." "I won't write on medium anymore" That's what I told myself after my article received less views, comments, and likes than usual. Way less. I felt disappointed, sad and that I don't want to write anymore.

When I write an article, I work hard to provide my audience with clear and easy information and high-quality content and images. So when I received less views, I felt discouraged.

- But then I remembered my first article. It was about Buyer Persona. When I received 4 views I was thrilled, excited, and satisfied. I was like OMG 4 people saw my article and read it!

My followers and readers kept growing over the past 2 and a half months and I’m so grateful for that.

So I told myself instead of being sad and not posting, I'll focus on the positive side. 17 people viewed my article! I gained 3 more followers! 2 people commented on my article and 3 liked it! Even if the numbers are low, it's still something.

Maybe the next article will receive more, I'll never know unless I keep going.

And I posted another article, and the previous one received more views, comments, and likes.

I received 26 views, 12 people clapped and 5 commented.

- That’s how it works. I have to keep posting so more people can see my articles and support me.

• Consistency is Key.

That’s the most important writing tip for me. That’s why I should keep writing and showing up even if I don’t want to.

Instead of feeling sad that only a few people read my article, I’ll be happy that "few people read my article".

We all go through this. We all have our ups and downs. Sometimes we receive lots of views and engagements, other times we receive less. But you’re not alone in this.

Now let's discuss the importance of staying consistent and engaging with readers and other writers:

1. Credibility:

macrovector from Freepik

- Consistent writing shows that you are knowledgeable, detail-oriented, and committed to presenting accurate information.

- Lack of consistency can make your readers question your credibility. Consistent writing can enhance writers' credibility and your readers will trust you and your work.

2. Professionalism:

iconicbestiary from Freepik

- Writing consistently ensures professionalism, making you seem more organized and trustworthy. Your readers will appreciate consistency because it guarantees high-quality work.

3. Reader engagement:

freepik from Freepik

- When you write consistently, you keep your readers interested, which will make them read more of your articles, share your message or engage with your stories.

- Engaging with your readers is essential in building a following, gaining feedback, having a loyal audience, and creating a community that will support your work.

- Always engage with your readers, ask their questions, and ask for their feedback. Also, engage with fellow writers and support their work and they’ll support you as well.

4. Clarity:

geralt from Pixabay

- Being consistent in writing helps your readers understand your content and your messages.

- You should use clear and easy-to-understand language to deliver your message to your readers easily.

- The clarity in writing refers to expressing your ideas in an easily understandable and precise way so that anyone can read and understand your work.

5. Readability:

freepik from Freepik

- Consistency makes your work more readable, which keeps your readers engaged and helps them understand your message. By using consistent formatting and visual aids, you can make your writing easier on the eyes and less overwhelming for your readers

6. Accuracy:

vectorjuice from Freepik

- When you’re consistent, your work will be more accurate and informative.

- Accuracy is important because it ensures that the reader is receiving the correct information.

- To be accurate you should use correct grammar and punctuation, spell words correctly and avoid any errors.

- It’s important to proofread your writing carefully before you submit it. This will help you to catch any errors.

7. Style:

Photo by Marcus Ganahl on Unsplash

- A consistent writing style helps define your work’s tone and helps readers understand your point of view and what kind of writer you are.

- Without consistency, your writing may appear chaotic, and incomplete.

8. Tone:

freepik from Freepik

- In writing, Voice and Tone are important because they create a certain effect on the reader making it more impactful.

Click Here to learn more about Voice and Tone.

Finally, as writers, it’s easy to be overly critical of ourselves and our work, especially when we’re not seeing the results we want. Success doesn’t happen overnight, but with consistent effort and a commitment to building reader engagement, clarity, and accuracy, we can overcome the challenges and achieve your goals.

Have you ever felt uninspired or didn't want to write anymore? Share your experience in the comments.

Clap, Comment, and Follow for more. :)

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this article, make sure you check my other articles.

#WritingTips #Consistency

--

--

Habiba Lotfy

Digital Marketer, AI enthusiast, and Writer. Sharing tips and insights on these topics to help you reach your goals with confidence and creativity.