Leuven: Arrival

David Torrejon Moya
2 min readSep 11, 2015

--

My sister and me. I was very busy as you can see.

After a 24 hour trip we arrived at around 18.00 at Leuven. We came by car from Barcelona, previous stop at Issoire (a small french town close to the roadway).

The city was way busy than the last time I was here (I guess August is dead time for a city like Leuven). Lots of students I guess, or young people, nevermind, people everywhere, some of them with their parents looking for rooms or studios I guess. In about a week everything really starts, at least my MSc starts the 21st of September. Maybe being the local festivities has something to do aswell.

I’ve had time to talk to a couple of my new neighbours, and both knew people who have done my MSc, and both told me the same, be ready because there is lots of work. I thought, damn that’s why I came, I wouldn’t have left my country to do something easy!

My family. They are partying hard, they are not seeing me in a while!

Anyway, one of the advantages of having an small studio, is that everything I packed in Barcelona it took around 40 minutes to unpack and place. I gotta buy a few stuff at IKEA, but I was already aware of it.

The weekend will be full chill, and on monday, registration, choosing which classes will I take, and then basically try to meet new people. But I will post about it next week.

PS: today is 11-S and for me, a catalan born and raised guy, is a very important date. For the third or fourth year in a row about 1.5M-2M people rally for the independence of our country Catalonia. The elections are the 27-S, and I will talk a bit more about it in a few days, but for today, a picture of an old rally.

--

--

David Torrejon Moya

MSc in AI by @KU_Leuven. NLP and Deep Learning. Born and raised in Catalonia, a small country close to France and Spain. Find me @daviddincognit.