Five Stops on my Path to Graduation.

Haley Lile
3 min readNov 23, 2017

--

Have you ever looked back on your life, and realized the silly twists and turns that you have taken to get to your present situation? Reflecting on my path to graduating college at 28 years of age, has shown me how much I have grown through my years after high school. I have realized how much I did not know as a budding adult, and how much I still don’t know as I head out into the job market. Here are five stops on the way to my graduation.

  1. Just Graduated High School, Now What?

Right out of high school I knew that I needed to go to college. I am sure many high school seniors feel this way. Funny thing though, you generally need to apply to attend college…oops. The August following my graduation a friend and I awkwardly walked into Rogue Community College, and asked how to apply.

Spoiler, I dropped out my first quarter to work full time at the local YMCA.

2. Oops Took A Wrong Turn.

A year later, when the glitter had faded from the YMCA, I decided I was truly ready to pursue school, well trade school. I went off to receive my certification in phlebotomy. For those of you who do not know what a phlebotomist is, it is the person that draws your blood.

I really enjoyed it, at least I really enjoyed the social aspect of it. I stuck with this for a few months, until I saw experienced phlebotomists applying for second jobs, because they did not make enough to live on. This was my epiphany, when I realized I needed to dream bigger.

3. College Take Two.

Two years out of high school, I found myself back at RCC. I was very determined and focused at this time. I registered for my require classes and got all of my text books. Then a month in my tuition bill surfaced, and I realized I was going to have to take out a loan, the first of many.

I honestly don’t know what fantasy I was living in (a pretty sad one), but I really thought I could afford to pay for college. Only close to my senior year would I fluently learn how to apply for scholarships, and know FAFSA’s due dates.

4. What Are You Going To Do With That?

I’ve noticed that people are really curious when they find out you are in college. If you have not been asked what are you going for, what college do you attend, what are your plans after college, or my favorite what are you going to do with that, then you must not be speaking to anyone…ever.

I now have an answer to these questions.

(I start by changing my degree) My degree is in natural science (then give an examples), like hydrology and geology. I also, like to tell them my dream job is to hug trees.

5. Countdown to graduation!

I graduate in March 2018, that is four months away. I have mixed emotions, from excited and relief, to scared out of my mind. I have already started applying for jobs, and have yet to have an application make it pass HR. This has contributed to my growing anxiety.

I can only hope that I will figure out my career path better or at least more fluidly than my college path.

--

--

Haley Lile

I am a student at Southern Oregon University. I am passionate about the environment, and am an animal lover.