People-watching

Hali Stringer
3 min readJul 8, 2018

--

I like people-watching.

I used to make up stories about the people I’d see. People I’d drive past, the couple sitting next to me at the coffee shop, the woman browsing the sweet aisle at the supermarket. I’d concoct their back stories. Imagine what was going on in their minds. I’d give them names, jobs, families.

My characters were often a little twisted and living somewhat sordid lives. Maybe because my own life felt so vanilla.

Social media takes my people watching to a whole new level. It’s incredible what you can find out about someone online. It helps to put some of the puzzle pieces together.

I’m especially interested in people’s motivation for doing things, particularly things I could never imagine doing myself. Things like climbing Everest, writing a bestseller, starting a business, inventing something, or even committing murder.

I want to know what drives people to do these things that I could never do. What do you have to have gone through in your life?

Based on my fascination with other people, I’ve always thought that mind-reading would be an amazing superpower to have. Imagine knowing what people were thinking, rather than having to assume based off of limited information.

Just imagine.

Unfortunately, my desire to hold this power can result in me eagerly anticipating someone’s thoughts or intentions with no reason or proof. And not being as psychic as I like to think I am, I tend to often get it wrong.

I’m working on listening with my full attention. Listening to hear and understand. It’s not so easy when your imagination has been left untamed for a long time, but I’m reigning it in.

Back to my backstories. I also judge people. It’s not unusual, I’m told. I don’t even feel guilty about it. Let’s face it, if you look and/or act like a murderer, slob, hipster, or a whatever, that’s on you.

I also judge positively, although I’m not sure it’s in equal measure to the negative. People I want to get to know better, hang out with, maybe become friends with. All based on a combination of what I observe and the stories I concoct.

Deepak Chopra says whatever we judge or condemn in another is ultimately a disowned or rejected part of ourselves.

The bottom line is to be yourself and don’t ignore your shadow in the process. In fact, dig a little and acknowledge your shadow.

He also mentions that when we sever our relationship with certain aspects of our personality, we deny ourselves access to stimulation, excitement, passion, and creativity.

More reason to be aware of my shadow.

I want lots of stimulation, excitement, passion, and creativity in my life. And meaningful, deeply rewarding relationships. And love, the best kind of love.

I think my desire to be psychic may be the easy route to the above.

Things come a lot easier in my mind. I’m on my way to getting there in real life.

In the meantime, I’ll be watching you.

--

--

Hali Stringer

Don't take me too seriously, or do. Life is short, hard, and beautiful - make the most of it.