Hallie Heeg-Kotrla
2 min readMay 21, 2019

Last year I hiked Le Morne Mountain 32 weeks pregnant. My mind struggled with how much slower I had to go. I had to let my husband and others help me down, and I really had to focus on not comparing myself to the others in the group. I realized if I wasn’t careful and mindful, my ego would get me in trouble. Being pregnant really forced me to listen to my body, and be in my body. An exercise I learned at @onsiteworkshops is to do a body scan. You stand still, and mentally scan your whole body for how your feeling. You focus on where the feeling is in your body, and on a scale of 1–10 what number is the feeling. We carry so much emotional weight with us, and then we wonder why we get physically sick, prone to injuries, or mental instability. Having an eating disorder for years I was so disconnected from my body. Things didn’t change over night and in order to break a habit I had to create new ones. Putting tools in place like setting a reminder on my phone to just breathe, putting my hand on my belly and coming back to the present moment, doing yoga for an hour with a mirror in front of me repeating a positive mantra, has all helped to overcome old habits and negative thinking. I’m grateful for how strong my body is and the physical exercises I do to stay in shape. We need to put that same level of practice into our mental strength as well. What mental exercise do you do to strength your mental well being? I hope this week you live well mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Hallie Heeg-Kotrla

Accomplished entrepreneur and executive leader with over 16 years of sales, marketing, leadership, and account management experience.