Jason Hammersla
1 min readAug 31, 2018

--

[1] Sure, my college experience was a time of enormous personal growth, spurred on by extraordinary people who challenged and inspired me, often in the wee hours of the early morning. But it was also a time of crushing doubt and crippling debt and, frankly, I often feel as though the education itself was wasted.

I had some great times in my twenties, when true independence allowed for whimsical adventures like road trips, bachelor parties and horrifying first dates. And yet, though these adventures and these years were characterized by the loyal embrace of my local family of friends, they could also be intensely lonely.

As for most people, my thirties were a time of investment in the future: career advancement, buying a house, getting married, having a kid. These things are richly rewarding, of course, but not always fun — especially when the cost comes up front.

Now I’m in my forties and it’s all about keeping stuff: keep my wife happy, keep my daughter safe, keep my parents alive, keep up with work, keep my sanity, keep in shape, keep getting up every morning.

Compare that to my high school days, when my only responsibility was to learn, my only debt was to myself, I worked with my best friends every day, the future was an idle mystery and the only thing I cared about losing was my virginity.

--

--