Hamoun Ghanbari
2 min readMay 29, 2019

--

I finally had a chance to carefully read your article. great work. loooots of information. I think I understood around 40% of it :) I didn’t have steemit.com account yet, so I leave the comment here:

Inertia:
I liked the part that you talked about the inertia and momentum specially. I think if you want to generalize planB statistical model to other coins or deduct a first principle model from it, somehow you have to get that momentum into the equation. Initially I didn’t expect such a simple model to explain bitcoin price. I was more expecting something like a differential/difference equation involving time. I’m thinking maybe the SF formula might be just a solution to some sort of generic differential equations.

Some other thoughts that might be relevant/interesting:

POS coins:
after witnessing failure of some promising fixed-supply POS coins such as NXT and PIVX I realized the importance of inflation/flow/issuance. I think inflation eliminates the risk of a group of people hodling the coins, blocking circulation or cornering the market.
Also pow inherently forces the miner to convert fiat to crypto by buying electricity thus causing a chain reaction in which the miner has to find customers for the mined coins. pow network thus sucks fiat like a black hole:) Opposite to this, POS looks like a simple distributed database without much incentive for fiat in-flow.

halving:
looks like satoshi made bitcoin so that it starts inflationary
(to facilitate medium-of-exchange aspect during initial adoption phase) and quickly turns into something deflationary (to realize ultimate goal of being a store-of-value). So the initial phase might be just to bootstrap the whole thing. While I believe new inflationary coins such as ethereum might be able to gain momentum/adoption (because people prefer them when buying goods and services) I don’t see much chance for a new deflationary coin ( due to bitcoin economy of scale).

macro-economy:
I think it makes sense for the model to differentiate between the demand on the goods and services accessible through the coin ( e.g. anonymous transactions in darknet for bitcoin ), versus the demand for financial-services/speculation. Seems like the latter (speculation) is the main driver of the price while the former (organic demand) is the insurance policy against the value going to 0.
I’m thinking maybe bitcoin bubbles bust because the speculation demand disrupts the intrinsic utility (darkweb e-commerce).

satoshi:
I’m wondering what sort of entity would able to pull off a project like bitcoin, a system that works flawlessly after 10 years and we have just started to discover some of the theoretical aspects of it. any thoughts on that?

--

--