100Hour Challenge — Salsa Dancing (200Hours)

Erik Hamre
100HourChallenge
Published in
11 min readJan 4, 2020

--

Medellin, Colombia. The place I took my first (salsa) steps

My first ever salsa class was in Medellin, Colombia.

Diana, a very passionate dancer who I met in the hostel I was staying, taught me the absolute basics, counting from un-dos-tres, cinco-seis-siete.

I quickly got the hang of it, or at least I thought so, and after a few classes I felt ready to go out practicing in the ‘real world’.

We went to Eslabon Prendido, a tiny and packed salsa bar in downtown Medellin. There was a band of 8–10 musicians, in a small room filled with 40-50 dancers. It was fair to say that the music filled the room and way out onto the streets.

The level of dancing was very high, as it’s one of the favourite places to go for the best dancers in town. And we were in Colombia after all.

I felt quite good, and was able to dance reasonably well, especially with Diana, which seemed to understand all my leads.

It took a while to understand that she was the main reason to why I was dancing so well. She is from Cali, one of the salsa capitals of the world, and could basically dance herself into moves, which it felt like you were leading her to do.

--

--