Which Apple Watch is Right for You?

A quick outline of honest thoughts to help make your decision

Hannah Duckworth
Dev Genius

--

Apple Watches are continuing to gain popularity. They seem to be on every wrist these days! If you’re like me, and arrived totally late to the party, no worries — I’m sure there’s more of us out there! Buying your first Apple Watch can be daunting — so expensive, such a little return window, so many unknowns, and not to mention so many options when buying! You could add 50 different combinations to your cart before landing on the one you want to buy. I’ve run through a quick summary of some different buying options below in hopes of helping you make the right pick. If you’re a novice and need more research to read, take a look at my article Everything You Need To Know About Buying Your First Apple Watch, after this!

Series 3 vs Series 5

Apple has gotten much gripe for not making the newer versions of their watches “different” enough or more “special” than the last. However, there are some differences between the Series 3 and Series 5 that are quite good. Above all, you have to remember that the Series 5 is much newer than the 3, meaning newer and faster hardware. The Series 5 has faster processor, wireless chip, and most up to date Bluetooth capabilities. This may not sound sexy, but it will be noticed when your older device starts to lag. Series 5 also boasts ECG heart monitoring and fall detection, which are some pretty cool healthcare capabilities. I’m not sure they really resonate with the average Apple Watch user but…it’s pretty cool they were able to shove those two features into a watch. The Series 5 is all around sleeker than the 3, and has an upgraded always-on retina screen. The Series 5 makes better use of the surface area it has to work with by extending the screen and reducing the bevel size. A win in my book…love an upgraded screen.

Cellular vs Non Cellular

The biggest real-world difference here is that with Cellular, you can pay an additional $10/month to your cell phone provider to basically go on a walk, run or quick jaunt to the store without your phone. Very…useful right? You also get the added benefit of Siri, however I’ve always had a weird insecurity about yelling into my devices so this added benefit doesn’t really appeal to me. With Cellular, you are able to take calls, send and receive text messages, and access the cellular network without your phone anywhere nearby. If this is appealing, I challenge you to think about all of the times you truly want to leave your phone at home while you go somewhere. It may be less than you think. With that said, so far I’m glad (I think) that I chose Cellular, however I could easily live without it.

Regular vs Nike

Don’t expect the Nike version to be some crazy-Garmin level run tracker. It’s the exact same device as the regular watch, however you do get additional watch faces, the option to select from a wider variety of “nike-only” bands, and the Nike Run Club app comes pre-downloaded on the watch. You can always download the app on the regular watch or buy an additional Nike band, but you don’t get the faces…and they are pretty slick. Given that the Nike Watch is everything the regular Watch is and (a tiny bit) more, the Nike Watch is technically a better bang for your buck. As a runner or athlete, the Nike version won’t provide you any more features than the regular watch, however it seems like an unsaid rule that you are supposed to buy this version. I’m a runner so…they got me.

40mm vs 44mm Case

As a female, the 40mm is perfect for my wrist. It is plenty big enough. I honestly can’t imagine getting into the 44mm territory. I’ll leave that one to the guys who shop at Big and Tall.

Case Type

There are a lot of different case types available for Apple Watch now. From aluminum to stainless steel, to ceramic. Besides personal preference, the biggest difference is cost. Do you have an additional $900 to spend on a ceramic case because you are (likely) rich, successful, and deteste the look of a harsh metal against your skin? It’s ok, neither does anyone else. If this is your first watch and you don’t own a stake in a professional sports team or have a closet fulls of Yeezys, just go with the aluminum.

Band Types

I couldn’t decide between the Sport Band or the Sport Loop, so I got both to test out! I had tried on a family member’s Series 1 once at a get together and the biggest annoyance I had was the atrocious rubber band around your wrist. It was SO uncomfortable. I was scared to be stuck with an awful rubber band, especially for hot, sweaty workouts, which is why I ultimately ordered an additional Sport Loop. With the Series 5 (and preceding models I’m sure) thankfully the sport band comfort has been improved. I was very pleased to find the Nike Sport Band to be very comfortable, both sweating and not. The Sport Loop is interesting. I imagined comfortable, snug, soft, elastic. On the contrary it is a rigid wrap that looks more like the inside of velcro. I do like it, however I find it to be a bit more uncomfortable when working out.

Next, read Everything You Need to Know About Buying Your First Apple Watch

--

--