What do Software Developers actually do?

Hannah Marr Tittle
The Dev Project
Published in
4 min readApr 21, 2022

--

Everyone knows at least one person who says they are a “programmer” or “software developer”… but what does that really mean?

Most people think of a person sitting in a dark room behind a bright computer with bags under their eyes, big monitors, and fancy keyboards. It’s been my experience that people use “software developers” and “video gamers” synonymously…. does this picture look anything like the picture in your head?

Let me paint another picture by introducing myself…

Hi, I’m Hannah — Sr. Software Developer.

Probably not what you’d expect from someone who sits behind a computer for a living

I have been a backend software developer for 4 years now working for one of the greatest outdoors companies, L.L.Bean.

Over these four years, I have perfected my job description for the non-developer.

I write code to manage order data for L.L.Bean. I don’t work on the website.

Okay, so it could still use some work... Let me know your best programmer “job description” for the non-developer in the comments!

So what do developers actually do?

--

--

Hannah Marr Tittle
The Dev Project

sr. software developer, family travel enthusiast, amateur budgeter, entrepreneur, wife and mom!