Publishing my study notes

Hanneli Tavante
2 min readSep 1, 2017

--

A new blog post series is coming! I am a big fan of writing (and reading) notes about books and courses. This technique really helps me to memorise the information.

It will be challenging to publish these notes because most of it is actually written down in old notebooks or on a sheet of paper. I don’t wanna make you suffer trying to decode my awful handwriting, so I’ll try to come up with a template to make things a little bit more uniform.

Along the years, I tried many different techniques for taking notes. Not only because I was curious to measure if they would be efficient to make me learn and memorise something new, but also because my goals with some books were different. I collected and organised some notes from decades ago (including pre-college times!), so clearly, some of the content aimed to help me with tests and research. Another portion of it was a contribution to a few colleagues who didn’t show up in the classes very often and needed some material to study for their finals. You will also find records that were purely recreative (a.k.a food for thought), mostly taken during my commute time (it was a long journey from home to work).

In every post, I’ll make a few sections explicit, to provide some context to the readers. You might find the book title, authors, year of publication; the year that I read the book, a very short description of each chapter, my conclusions and possibly the insights and correlations that I extracted from the material. I created a LaTeX template (which, of course, may vary depending on the post):

Layout for the notes

The inspiration for this layout came from this post. Everything will be on GitHub — the notes, my final .cls file, etc. Feel free to share with your colleagues!

--

--

Hanneli Tavante

Software developer, Engineer, Programming Languages, electronics, Science, Maths, bookahoolic, tech, Pokémon, Lego, animals, coffee drinker.