Why design debts at an early stage startup matters and how I learned to manage them.

Hansel Wong
Designer Things
Published in
4 min readJun 21, 2019

--

In my last post, I talked about how I got hired and started my first full-time job as a product designer at a startup.

It has only been a little over a month since I first joined Lomotif but it’s incredible what I’ve managed to learn and do in such a short period. This post is about why design debts matter to startups and how to manage them while working in a fast-paced environment.

What is design debts and why it matters

We all talk about technical debts in startups, where additional refactoring work is caused by choosing an easy or faster solution instead of a better approach that would take longer. In most cases, due to the limited engineering resources, quick and short-term solutions are preferred to meet the deadlines.

As a company scale, the legacy code might not be able to support the increased in traffic or content for the software. Most startups face these issues sooner or later and the larger the codebase, the longer it takes to refactor it.

--

--

Hansel Wong
Designer Things

Writing About Design & Business | Part-Time Cat Dad |