The Four Mythological Symbols

Hanshu Zhou
2 min readSep 19, 2018

--

Critical Making | Project 1: Building Hypertexts

“In ancient Chinese astronomy, the sky ecliptic was divided into four sections. Each of these sections contained seven mansions, and together they formed the 28 Mansions. The 28 Mansions may be considered to be equivalent to the zodiacal constellations in Western astronomy, although they reflect the movement of the Moon through a sidereal month rather than the Sun in a tropical year. This enabled the ancient Chinese to mark the travelling positions of the Sun and the Moon, as well as to determine the time and seasons. Each section of the sky is assigned to a mythological creature, collectively known as the Four Symbols. These creatures are the Azure Dragon of the East, the White Tiger of the West, the Black Tortoise of the North, and the Vermillion Bird of the South. Apart from their astronomical significance, each of the Four Symbols is surrounded by various mythological associations.”

From : https://www.ancient-origins.net/myths-legends-asia/four-mythological-symbols-china-001792

I always get obsessed with those ancient myths and monsters. Moreover, I thought it would be really fun that to combine ancient legends with game! So~I decided to build this website game named The Four Symbols. Basically, player just needs to find out where these four monsters hide.

https://github.com/HanshuZhou/Project-1-Building-Hypertexts

What hurdles did you encounter?

  1. I don’t know why some codes I wrote didn’t work, so I just check these codes over and over again.
  2. Have lots of ideas, but my knowledge of HTML, CSS, JS can not support me to achieve my idea.

How did you overcome them?

Thank to those tutorials on Youtube!!!

What worked and what didn’t?

Most can work, except the <map> Tag, so I have to change my original plan.

What new tools did you try?

Animate.css and some online image matting websites.

--

--