Exploring Southsea: A Day of Travel in Portsmouth

Haocheng Lin
2 min readDec 27, 2022

--

As I arrived in the picturesque town of Southsea, I was excited to collect my new shoes from Clarks on Palmerston Road. After parking at Lidl, I set out to explore the bustling area. Southsea is home to a variety of stunning houses and flats that line its wide, tree-lined roads.

While wandering through the streets, I stumbled upon an unmarked URC Church. It wasn’t listed on Google Maps, so I decided to take a closer examination and add it to the map for others to discover. To my amazement, I discovered that the Church had been transformed into a holiday home for tourists. I am impressed by the hotel’s appearance and look forward to visiting sometime in the future.

As I left the pub and continued my exploration, I observed a primary school nearby. I couldn’t resist the temptation to take a glimpse inside, so I walked up to the gate and peered through the fence.

To my surprise, the school was closed for the Christmas break. The classrooms were empty, and the corridors were quiet, but I could still feel the excitement and anticipation in the air as the students and teachers prepared for the holidays.

When I made my way back to my car, I felt a sense of holiday cheer and gratitude for the community in Southsea. It had been a delightful day filled with discovery and holiday spirit.

--

--

Haocheng Lin

UCL 🏛️MSc AI for Sustainable Development Student 🎓 2024 | UCL 🏛️MEng Computer Science Graduate 🎓 2019 - 23 | Senior Programming Tutor 👨‍🏫 | Capgemini