Pinaglalaruan ba tayo ng tadhana?

kurstein
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Itaewon Class (2020)

Do you believe in second chances? Some do, some don’t. Pero paano kung tadhana na mismo ang humadlang?

You wouldn’t believe me if I say meeting you felt like we were destined. There was something about you and those bewitching eyes. From the moment my eyes laid on you, I knew that you were out of this world, as if God sculpted you perfectly. It’s ironic that I still can’t help but admire you after everything, and it’s funny that I’d call it “everything” when it wasn’t for you.

“Naglalambingan,

Nagtatawanan,

Nagtutulungan,

’Di natin namamalayan”

It felt slow. I didn’t even realize we were falling. Oh, were we? I thought we both knew even without words coming out of our mouths. From how your eyes speak, the friends that keep telling us that we are, to the way I felt. Back then, I really did think we were something and fate tied us together. Or so I thought.

“Tayo na lang (gusto mo)
Tayo na lang (akala ko)
Tayo na lang (’di ba)”

Kahit si Bathala nadamay. I’ve asked a few times, for signals, for signs. “Tayo na lang?” A very easy phrase to say, a very hard thing to do. But you know what? I’ve come to realize, it’s not that hard if I was the one you wanted. That’s when reality sinks in. There came another chance, another opportunity. But what happened? Wala. Walang nangyari. Walang “Tayo na lang.” The chances we didn’t take, do we regret it?

“Pinaglalaruan ba tayo ng tadhana
Pinaglalaruan ba tayo ng tadhana
Pinaglalaruan ba tayo ng tadhana”

You know it’s not for you when fate itself stepped in. That’s why I’m asking, after all this time, why do I still find myself writing about you? I knew that fate had played tricks on us. The two of us were brought together by destiny, but for what reason? I was left alone hanging and yet, it’s called fate?

I’ve convinced myself that I’ve lost faith in fate. I felt hopeless. Until, on a random afternoon, I came across a saying.

“if it’s for you, it will find you.”

It felt like the universe was telling me something from above. That it was listening to me, after all this time. A hopeless being became hopeful. Someday, somewhere, and with someone out there, aayon din sa amin ang tadhana.

--

--

kurstein
0 Followers

a seventeen year old kid who likes to write.