My Favourite Red Lipsticks

HAPPYLAND
4 min readSep 29, 2015

--

Last week I wore red lipstick, all week. Why? The weather turning misty in San Francisco, making me feel more reflective and emotionally intense. With cooler weather I feel the need for deeper saturated colour. I adore red lipstick. Red lipstick enhances one’s confidence, is classic, elegant, chic and can make a bold statement.

I believe that red lipstick can be worn every day, no matter what the weather and climate may be. The red I choose depends on my mood and the occasion, very similar to my choice of perfume.

So here are three of my favourite reds, I have returned to these many times, like the reunion of good friends. Each of these reds are completely different and each inhabits a different world.

May I introduce the sizzling Lady Danger by MAC:

I wore Lady Danger during the day every day last week. She is thrilling, wolf whistling risqué orange red, not neon, but a rebel. The kind of woman who would wear a classic black dress with bare feet and flirt. I love Lady Danger. She is a MAC amplified finish. She is bold. She doesn’t care what people think.

MAC Lady Danger is very extrovert, for those days when you might feel very outward or want to appear more outgoing. Perfect for hot summer days and evenings.

Lady Danger looks great with everything — denim, white, black cotton, black silk, trousers, dresses. She’s perfect during the day if you want to project confidence and fun. The Girl from Ipanema on acid.

Next, Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 01 Always Red — the classic red:

This Sephora cream lip stain in 01 Always Red, is a classic neutral red with a matte finish that isn’t drying on the skin. It feels silky but the finish is matte. It is incredibly long lasting. It will last through several meals and coffee and wears evenly so it is great for foodie occasions when you want your lipstick color to stay firmly put.

This red is so classic and the color saturation is rich yet the overall look is still vibrant and luminous. This is a great any time of day red and will brighten up a black or very minimal outfit. A brilliant accessory. A modern take on Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Last but not least, MAC Dubonnet Lipstick — a smooth claret:

This is one of my absolute favorites, and for many reasons. It’s a deep lipstick but not so deep that it drains your face, it is a claret but not burgundy, it makes my face look more structured and creates an edge of intensity, makes me look sharper and non-bouncy silly. So this would be for occasions where you want to look cool but detached. It could be David Lynch meets Lauren Bacall. I’d even wear it during the day with a casual outfit, for example a denim chambray dress where it provides a striking contrast.

And I’d wear it in the evening with monochromatic colors, such as with a white shirt. You can channel your “I am a serious creative person” wearing this lipstick. MAC Dubonnet has a slight creamy sheen which gives it a more classic cinematic polished look.

So whatever your mood, whatever the time of day, I can guarantee one of these three lipsticks will create the mood and project your frame of mind or at least the one you would like to inhabit. 💋

--

--