CSK where losing , albeit Albie Morkel

Adithya
3 min readOct 6, 2020

How do I start my inaugural story ? It is best to write what you like the most right. So here it goes, being a Chennai person, it is best to start with a CSK memory.

Back in 2012 on a scorching Chennai evening, there I was sitting in the hospitality box at the Chepauk stadium saving myself from the sun. But I felt the hit as Gayle, Kohli and Mayank were going bonkers. Between 4–5:45 pm I had looked up 12 times (the number of sixes of RCB’s innings) that I almost sprained my neck. At the end of the carnage the scoreboard read 205/8. The damage was done. The Chepauk pitch was slowing down and so was my confidence on winning the match.

Out came the openers , Faf and Vijay. Faf was wonderful with a classy 71, taking on the likes of Dan Vettori and Murali with ease. Handy knock from Suresh, Bravo laid the platform for a grand finish. Captain Cool MS, was blazing away set to write off another Miracle. But then the last ball of the 17th over had him. CSK still needed 43 from 12.

That was a huge target to get during those times. In walked Albie. Meanwhile in the AC Box, me and my friend looked at each other and said “Mate, Not Today” . Not to mention we emptied most of the soft drinks in the fridge. So yes now back to cricket.

Vettori gave the ball to Virat Kohli. I rubbed my eyes, pinched myself to check I wasn’t dreaming. I could see Albie’s eyes light up. So did mine. Now there is a chance . Get 25 this over, let’s have 18 for the last. I felt I was in the middle. I was looking at the gaps in the field, swinging my hands hard as if to hit a six . By doing so I poked the gentleman uncle sitting next to me. So a gentle apology to him and straight into the game.

First Ball : Inside edge four. Now why was I looking around for gaps . When I can get a four in a cheeky way. Never mind 4 runs. (That was me imagining myself in the middle)

Second Ball : Right in the arc. Perfect pace and Albie swings his bat and over long on for six. That moment we became monkeys jumping up and down in our seats

Third Ball : Thick edge , Four. Surely my 25 run prediction was right . I was proud of myself. I could predict everything . Come ON ALBIE

Next three balls : 6 2 6 . Take that 28 of the over. 3 more than my wish. Can’t ask for more. It was yellow all over the stadium . It was crazy ,it was unimaginable. The quiet uncle next to me started jumping, we were hugging each other as if we were childhood buddies. Such was the atmosphere. Ohh Cricket is a great feeling.

And then with 15 in the last over we were home in the last ball courtesy Bravo and Jaddu.

Perhaps the best moment in the IPL I had witnessed. IPL is such a wonderful tournament with so many beautiful moments such as above, but the fact that I was there witnessing these with my friend, the stadium, the atmosphere, everything was just amazing. I went on to tell this experience to everyone I saw for over a week.

So, the feeling that I was in the stadium to witness such madness to chase that huge score, the uncle friend I got in the process, all those are still etched in memory .

--

--