The 2007 plastic MacBook lives again with Mint-y Linux awesomeness

Hari Jay
7 min readFeb 23, 2018

All technology eventually goes the way of the Dodo. A very appropriate phrase for what I am about to describe because the Dodo while perfectly adapted to survive in its environment was hunted to extinction much like the Core 2 duo MacBooks from 2007.

The TLDR for this post is that Linux is still extremely performant on old hardware and thanks to Mac “plist” tricks that helped me get my SuperDrive working, amazing open tools like Refind and the fantastic “iso” modifying script from Matt Gadient, I could get Linux Mint from Linux Format issue 233 DVD running on this old hardware.

I had multiple motivations for this resurrection: My topmost motivation was to re-experience how seamlessly this hardware had performed back when it was running Mac OSX 10.7.5. Typically, I spend most of my time in the terminal (iTerm2/Terminal), a code IDE ( Sublime Text or Pycharm), 8–12 open tabs of google chrome and 1–2 PDFs from my Dropbox account open in Preview. For more than a year now, I was tired of this measly combination of Apps leading to constant beach-balling on my 2017 MacBook Pro-Retina with touch-bar 1TB SSD and OS X High-Sierra (despite having16 GB…

--

--

Hari Jay

Biochemist, Protein X-ray crystallographer, Gene Editor, Open source fanboy , linux and python enthusiast, http://t.co/wpJroOCj , http://t.co/006L5bJu