Ideation in UX

harikatammina
2 min readSep 15, 2022

--

Ideation is a part of 5 phases of design process. It is one of the toughest and interesting phases in UX. This phase of the UX process allows us to think of the problem in all possible ways. Whatever solution we find optimal in this phase will be designed in our low and high fidelity prototypes. So we need to pay more attention to this phase other wise the products experience may be effected.

In my first UX Project , when I am in this phase “the crazy eights” really helped me a lot. The crazy eights is really a fun exercise , you need to take a piece of paper and fold it thrice to get 8 boxes. After folding the paper you need to set a timer of 8 minutes and draw your eight ideas in the boxes. First time when I read about this crazy eights exercise, I thought that how can it be practically possible. I was spending a lot of time, comparing a lot of different similar apps, a lot of designs on dribble for a menu bar in my app. When I did this crazy eights, I ideated really faster. Some of my ideas were good, some were bad but at the end of the exercise I just have eight different ideas. to choose from.

The reason why the crazy eights became much popular is the time it sets. In 8 minutes you have to present 8 different ideas that means you are forcing your brain to think in 8 different directions in 8 minutes. Every thing in UX must follow time , we must set a time for everything. If you are stuck at your user interviews for more than a week , especially when you are working on a personal project then down the lane it will be very tough for you. Set a time for everything and in UX if you have missed something in your user interviews and then you will definitely cover it in your usability studies. It really happened to me, while conducting user interviews no one specified the need of a calendar to choose the delivery, but when I am conducting my usability study one participant explained me the need of it and I immediately included that option.

That’s it, ideation is tough but not impossible. I suggest you to do it in a crazy way like the “crazy eights” and you are gonna win in it and always set a time.

--

--