You decide: Expectations limit/ exceed your potential

The Power of Expectations — My Journey with the Pygmalion Effect

Harini
4 min readAug 4, 2023

I am usually known for being a highly self-motivated individual when it comes to academics. But, it was not always like this. Something very significant happened on the first day of my new school (grade 5), which was the first step in the journey to achieve this.

Personal experience

I was that dumb, quiet, insignificant kid with existential crises in class. I was even rejected admission by another school, with the Principal stating “low IQ” as the reason. He went on to the extent of mocking my mom to get me admitted to a differently abled school. I know for sure, no one believed I would improve in academics. I accepted I was dumb and my academic performance was just “OK”.

On the first day, I felt very unwelcome when a student placed her bag pack to block the seat next to her so I couldn’t sit. That on-face rejection by a stranger broke me! With tears almost rolling out, I ran to the last bench at a corner.

My insecurities intensified and I worried how I would make friends. Then, we had the science period. My teacher, Nandini, asked a question to the whole class. Everyone tried, by no one got the right answer. I knew the exact answer! It was only because I was drilled for 2 hours straight the previous day by my dad, who hoped it would help me do at least a bit better in a new school. After almost 15 minutes I gathered all my courage and finally stood up. I stuttered a bit, but I answered it right. My teacher clapped and the whole class joined. It was the very first time I felt my existence was acknowledged and appreciated, It was surreal!

Following this incident and many others, my teachers and friends strongly perceived I was very good at academics. For the first time, I believed I had potential and worked very hard. My academic performance only kept increasing thereafter.

Understanding

Now I realize, I was a beneficiary of the Pygmalion effect. It is a psychological phenomenon that describes how expectations can modify behavior.

The Pygmalion effect describes situations where someone’s high expectations improve our behavior and therefore our performance in a given area. It suggests that we do better when more is expected of us.

Rosenthal and Jacobson (behavioral psychologists) conducted the Pygmalion in-school study with elementary school teachers. They falsely informed some teachers that certain students had extraordinary talent and potential, while these students were randomly selected average students. At the end of the school year, the students described as more talented showed significant improvement in their IQ test scores compared to the rest of the class. Rosenthal concluded: “When we expect certain behaviors of others, we are likely to act in ways that make the expected behavior more likely to occur.”

Simply put, someone’s high expectations for our performance don’t only impact how we act, but also impact how they act. For example, my teachers believed I had potential, they paid more attention, gave me more detailed feedback, and continued to challenge me. This helped me push my limits every day.

Rosenthal, identified four factors to explain how teacher expectations can influence student behavior and performance: climate (positive classroom environment), input (more focus on perceived intelligent students), output (more opportunities to participate), and feedback (detailed feedback for better-performing students).

Negative side:

Since our expectations impact how we treat others, the Pygmalion effect only positively impacts those that we already expect a lot from. It can be especially damaging for young children who are malleable and still build their self-concept based on others’ opinions. It can lead to differential treatment that may not be fair. We should ensure that we are careful not to favor just one or two students or employees because while it may help them succeed, it can leave others feeling unmotivated and discouraged (what I had experienced in my old school).

Sometimes, expectations of others grow so much that, at a point, it feels unrealistic to achieve. Individuals from whom these expectations arise feel pressurized, extensively indulged in meeting expectations, and forget to take a moment to realize what they really want?

Take away

People in positions of influence need to be careful of managing and mediating their expectations. If we are the ones whose expectations may influence others, we should try to maintain and express positive expectations to motivate people to meet them. However, we also need to ensure that we don’t let our expectations of particular individuals overshadow other people who may have as much to offer. It also highlights stereotypes may be more damaging than they seem.

Conclusion

Creating high expectations from the start makes it more likely that our superiors will better support us, challenge us, and ensure that we succeed. And therefore, the first impression is the best impression. I consider myself lucky to have experienced a natural Pygmalion effect on me.

But what I realized by now is, that everyone has the potential to do anything! All we need is strong willpower. We shouldn’t allow others’ expectations to negatively impact or limit us. Recognizing the negative Pygmalion effect and adopting a positive mindset can help counter its impact. Creating a supportive environment, setting healthy boundaries, and focusing on achievements and growth enable us to reach our full potential, independent of others’ low expectations.

Thank you for reading till the end. For more insightful information on the dynamic relationship between society and psychology, hit that follow button!

--

--

Harini

Curious psychology student passionate about mental health and society. Join me on a journey of exploration as we navigate the complexities of the human mind.