Eight women on abortion

Harmony Birch
15 min readMay 18, 2019
All photos by Harmony Birch: A girl at the Alive from New York rally stands with a sign condemning abortion.

Times Square was packed tighter than usual as I squeezed my way past picket signs and police officers to its heart near a blue stage.

I approached a group of silent teenagers holding large wooden crosses.

“Excuse me, may I ask you a few questions?”

The teenagers directed me to their dad who was holding the largest cross. He was a strong, stony-looking man who politely declined. I gulped and searched for someone else.

On Saturday, May 4, Focus on the Family, a conservative Christian organization that describes itself as a “global Christian ministry dedicated to helping families thrive,” held a pro-life rally at the heart of Times Square dubbed, “Alive from New York.”

Attendees were in the thousand, according to Newsweek, while the New York Post reported there was only a crowd of 400. To me, the crowd seemed more densely populated than any concert or festival I had attended in the past.

A barrier was strewn around many attendees while others watched on the sidelines. Police kept moving the barrier farther and farther back enclosing more and more people within. Women and children of all ethnicities, from different Christian sects and from different pro-life groups flooded Times Square.

--

--

Harmony Birch

Journalist living in New York, New York. Writing about class, politics and sexism. Cohost of the podcast Rebel Girls Book Club. Hire me https://www.fiverr.com/s