Start working in a co-working space

Harry Ng
1 min readJul 12, 2016

--

After so many years of entrepreneurship, I didn’t really take a seat in a co-working space. As I recall, the very beginning of the entrepreneur life, I knew about working at home. In Hong Kong, we do not have the luxury of garage, thus working in home is the similar way to bootstrap.

Then, not long after the remote work, we were setting up office spaces in those crowded districts like Wan Chai and Causeway Bay. I did not know how expensive it was, until I was deep into the business for several years. Maintaining the business was especially hard when it came to down turn.

When the startup culture was becoming more popular about 3–4 years ago, and there were several co-working spaces around. I started to become a member. As I was still working in Shenzhen by that time, I did not use the space much. Gradually I detached from the spaces, and went on to other opportunities.

I started teaching. Even the classroom was inside a big co-working space, but that was pretty empty. I barely saw other users of the space, and hardly have interactions with the people around.

Nowadays, I start working in co-working space again. I am looking for the opportunities to collaborate with other entrepreneurs and developers. This is a good space to meet people. Meanwhile, this may become a distraction. So, I will enforce myself to stay focused within certain period of time.

--

--