Gone With The Wind — Book Review

Harsh Gopal
2 min readMar 5, 2020

I took a courageous step by picking up Gone With The Wind as usually I try to keep my distance from such classics. That said, this would be my 5th classic and am I disappointed? Hell no!

This book is a masterpiece on another level. And most importantly it takes immense guts to start writing a book over 1200 pages with your central character being a stupid, spoiled, selfish prick. Every time I thought that this is the time I would end up liking Scarlett O’Hara, I was proven wrong. Fiddle-Dee-Dee. She remains true to her character until the last page. But that is what exactly makes her a wonderful character.

Before reading, I assumed that this was a pure love story. Between Scarlett and the charming Rhett. It is so many things more. A story spanning over a decade, during the American Civil war between the Yankees and the Southerners, tells us the social cruelties very much prevalent during those times. How lives were affected during and after the war. Damn, we also have the KKK.

This is a huge and lengthy book and surprisingly doesn’t feel too long. There is a list of characters that come and stay with you like voices in your head. They are so vivid and you’ll either like them or dislike them, but will not be able to get them out of your head.
Rhett, Scarlett, Melanie, and Ashley(well to an extent) must be few of the most vibrant characters ever in the history of literature.

Now, if you love reading and have put this away(like I did) due to it’s “epic classic” tag and the size, then STFU and read this. In fact, everyone should be reading this.

--

--

Harsh Gopal

Pukes words at times and tries to arrange them meaningfully while enjoying Biriyani.