A sneak peek at a beautiful new cryptocurrency price tracking, portfolio and alerts app

Harshita Arora
4 min readDec 22, 2017

--

3 weeks ago, I set out to work on a cryptocurrency price tracking app that offers real-time prices of hundreds of cryptos, alerts, portfolio, all in a beautiful and sleek interface.

I’ve been following the crypto market and using crypto price tracking apps since a few months and was utterly annoyed by the confusing interface, and not to mention so many ads! I asked my friends for suggestions for better apps, paid for a few more, and still disappointed. All I wanted was an app where I could stay up-to-date with the prices, set alerts, and have a wishlist so I could access my list of favorite cryptos without having to scroll through hundreds or search for them every time I open the app!

So the app maker in me said, “Go ahead and build one!” :D

I started some market research. I talked to a few friends to know what apps they use and if they wish something better existed. I posted on a few crypto Facebook groups for market validation. And I got a pretty good response and figured that the need for a better app for normal folks who don’t always understand complex technical terms existed. People wanted an easier-to-use app for their needs.

I started by figuring out the user-flow diagram of each screen I wanted to have. Then, I moved onto to drawing the wireframes on paper. The design layout started to make a lot more sense. I used the Pop app to link all the screens (my pencil drawings) to create a little working prototype. In a few days, I moved onto designing the graphics and had mockups in different colour schemes. I shared them within my friend group and mentors for feedback and suggestions for improvements. And after that, I worked on updating the designs and put together a prototype in Adobe XD.

During my research process, I also realised that there are currently no multilingual apps in the crypto space. So I decided to get translations (thanks to my international friends from MIT Launch summer program!) for my app and I’m localising it in over 20 languages, so that my app can help people around the world!

I am now working on the code, localisation, testing, and marketing. I plan on launching the app on the App Store and Product Hunt on 21st January, 2018. You can join the mailing list here. The app launch will be a birthday worthy of grand celebration! :D

I am working pretty hard on building an app that crypto enthusiasts, investors, and just crypto-curious people would find valuable and love to use. I am getting a lot of valuable feedback from people. I put my prototype in the hands of a few dozen people and saw them use it and getting their feedback was so important! I made a few changes in the design to create a better UX.

The dozens of hours of research on the crypto market also gave me more ideas to solve problems and build products in this market. I am starting small by illustrating some funny crypto stickers with a friend and launching that app on 14th January, 2018.

Here’s a little sneak peak of the Crypto Price Tracker app!

The user can select the exchange in the left column and the fiat currency for conversion in the right column. You can also search for the crypto in the search bar. And the app will show the prices in real-time. Users can also click on any crypto to view more information like price graphs. Users can add cryptos to a wishlist so that they can follow only the cryptos they’re interested in without having to scroll or search for them every time. They can set alerts when the price of certain cryptos pass certain price or price growth percent thresholds. Crypto investors can also add their trades/holdings to their portfolio and they’d know how much and the percent of profit/loss they’ve made.
I tried to pack all the awesome features in one beautiful app!

My goal from writing blog posts about my app journey is to encourage and inspire other people, especially teenagers and girls (I’m 16!) to learn to make apps and solve problems that they care about. I am still navigating the tech world out there and I hope to learn more from this exciting journey. And I want to share those learnings with others so they can navigate the overwhelming world of app development!

And feedback and suggestions for the app are always welcome! If you read this far, thank you so much! My email is harshita@harshitaapps.com. Feel free to drop me an email, or ask a question anytime! I look forward to hearing from everyone here!

Join the mailing list on https://www.cryptopricetrackerapp.com/ and follow the page on Facebook and Twitter :)

This story is published in Noteworthy, where 10,000+ readers come every day to learn about the people & ideas shaping the products we love.

Follow our publication to see more product & design stories featured by the Journal team.

--

--