Taylor Swift On Leaked Phone Call With Kanye West: “A Career Death”

Harsh Malviya
3 min readDec 8, 2023

--

Taylor Swift On Leaked Phone Call With Kanye West: “A Career Death”

Taylor Swift On Leaked Phone Call With Kanye West: “A Career Death”

Taylor Swift was named the ‘Person of the Year’ by Time magazine, who described her as the “hero of her own story.” Taylor Swift’s “The Eras Tour” film made a huge $92.8 million debut earlier this year, setting the tone for the “Cruel Summer” singer’s 2023. In an interview with the outlet, the singer stated that Kim Kardashian’s phone call with rapper Kanye West was “a career death” for her.

Taylor Swift On Leaked Phone Call With Kanye West: “A Career Death”

Kim Kardashian shared audio and video of her then-husband and Taylor Swift talking on the phone in 2016, in which the pop singer appeared to endorse the rapper’s words about her in his song. “I feel like me and Taylor might still have sex / I made that b**** famous,” Mr West sang in the song. A Swift spokesperson denied rumors that the singer approved of the song’s lyrics after it was released. In the video, there was no mention of West claiming he “made her famous” or that he would call Swift a “b****” if an unedited version of the conversation was made public in 2020.

The 33-year-old singer added that it felt like “career death” because she appeared to have approved the lyrics. “Make no mistake about it: my career was taken from me. “You have a completely manufactured frame job in an illegally recorded phone call, which Kim Kardashian edited and then released to prove to everyone that I was a liar,” she told the outlet.

The incident affected her mentally, and she even relocated to a new location to avoid all the attention. “That took me to a psychological low I’d never been to before.” I relocated to another country. For a year, I didn’t leave my rental home. I was terrified of making phone calls. Because I didn’t trust anyone anymore, I avoided most people in my life. “I went down really hard,” the “Lover” singer admitted to Time Magazine.

The “All Too Well” singer initially appeared to accuse the rapper and his then-wife of “editing and manipulating” portions of the phone call that had surfaced in 2016, until the entire phone conversation between Ms Swift and Mr West was released online in March 2020. In a post about making donations to charitable organizations, she wrote, “Instead of answering those who are asking how I feel about the video footage that leaked, proving that I was telling the truth the whole time about *that call* (you know, the one that was illegally recorded, that somebody edited and manipulated in order to frame me and put me, my family and fans through hell for four years)…SWIPE UP to see what really matters.”

Taylor Swift On Leaked Phone Call With Kanye West: “A Career Death”

In response, SKIMS founder Taylor Swift wrote on Twitter, “@taylorswift13 has chosen to reignite an old exchange — that at this point in time feels very self-serving given the suffering millions of real victims are facing right now.” She also stated that she did not edit the call footage.”Kanye has documented the making of all of his albums for his personal archive, however has never released any of it for public consumption and the call between the two of them would have remained private or would have gone in the trash had she not lied and forced me to defend him,” she went on to say at the time.

--

--