iPad Pro, Character Animator & Illustration

sharon
4 min readFeb 21, 2018

So I just got the iPad pro 12.9". I broke down because I wanted the iPencil and because I am such a sucker for Apple products. I’ve been playing in many, many apps. I specifically am interested in apps that will produce vector art for animation. Later I learned that although After Effects needs vector graphics to render animation (specifically characters using a rigging plugin) my new discovery of Adobe Character Animator can use both raster and vector graphics. Anyway, I guess I’m trying to explain too much here. I’ll just post some visuals of what I’m up to lately.

See the resemblance?

I’m playing with an idea: My parents animated for the grandkids (my niece and nephew who live in France). The premise will be that my mom (an artist) draws/paints herself and my dad and now they’re stuck in an imaginary world created by my mom. My dad is not so happy, as he has been caught off guard while at swim class and thrown into this illustrated world of my mother. Meanwhile my mom is overjoyed and waving at the kids (it will be uploaded to YouTube for the kids to watch) and she keeps creating things (ie: drawing bikes and what not) she thinks will make my dad happy. He meanwhile is trying to send visual messages to the kids to help get him out of there. I’m also thinking he will be in the background climbing ladders and ropes trying to get out of the computer.

This is how my mind works. Fortunately or unfortunately, however you tend to see it. I’m also unemployed since our lovely administration decided the environment doesn’t matter and cut funding to the EPA. My job was eliminated as graphic artist. So I have lots of time to play and I intend to make the most of it.

I’m just getting used to drawing on the iPad, so go easy. I’m experimenting. I sometimes think it might just be better to go back to good ol’ paper (sigh). I’m determined to give this a shot though, because the workflow would be much better. Drawing to design instead of drawing to scan to draw again to design.

My cat Pixel is currently my best model for illustration. She will pose on queue, sort of.

I’m also toying with too many ideas and need to reign in my focus. Playing with the apps. I’ve narrowed it down. Here are some notes I took and put in Evernote for myself. Maybe you’ll find it helpful:

iPad Pro App Details:

Adobe Draw:
sends straight to iMac using Adobe cloud as vector illustration
To bring image in you go to LAYER > ADD > Image Layer and choose image

Vectornator
sends through adobe cloud straight to Ai as vector

Graphic:
saves to dropbox as pdf, svg, psd, png, jpg

Sketchbook:
sends to dropbox not vector

Concepts:
exports to dropbox or adobe cloud as sag, psd, pdf or concept native

Adobe Sketch:
exports to Ai or PSD not vector (but nice drawing tools)

Procreate:
sends to concepts, ccloud, google drive, dropbox — PSD but not vector also jpg, png procreate

Paper — saves to dropbox png (not vector)

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/19317489/?claim=usc3s886ncr">Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

--

--

sharon

Graphic Designer, Mountain Biker, Chocolate Connoisseur