Making Money As a Student Is Hard

Studying is Hard. Working and Studying is Harder.

Harvy James Espellarga
2 min readSep 22, 2023

OMG! I know this is a bad way to start a “Story” or an “Article,” but all my life, I loved literature! I claim to hate literature as a kid because I HATED reading (but I love it now, hehe). Similarly, my elementary school classmates would coincidentally hate literature too, primarily because of history, because memorizing essential dates and events as a wee kid was hard. At least, that’s the reason why.

A student writing on a sheet of paper on a wooden board. The purpose of this image is to depict a student writing notes on a piece of paper, a perfect portrayal on what I am or what I think I look like as a working student.
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Anyway, why I’m talking about this? It’s because I needed money as a student. The story need to make more sense? It all started when I was a kid who was a big fan of writing poems. I wrote poems that rhymed to a 7-year-old. You’d be treated as the William Shakespeare of your class whenever you made a poem that rhymed.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I didn’t think of anything of my passion for making poems. I just thought, “Huh, that’s a cool talent.” Fast forward to high school, where I switched up and wrote ENTIRE research papers all by myself in exchange for money and did my classmates’ assignments in exchange for cash.

However, once the pandemic hit, I had no source of income. This is where I found “Content Writing (the online version)”. I realized, “Hey, since I love writing content, why not find a way to monetize it.” I looked for jobs online, and it took me 2–3 months to land a $2/hr paying job. Little me was happy, and mind you, I’d wake up at 6 in the morning, prepare my 3-in-1 coffee, and work until 11 in the evening as a 15-year-old kid. Such a crazy world, right?

I’m a bit too lazy writing my journey, but I’ll probably talk about it in the future. Fast forward to today, trying to write on Medium to earn money without the limitations of what I can write. It’s ultimately my dream to write about ANYTHING in the world and be paid a cave full of money (my humor is broken, I know; don’t judge me).

If you love to hear about my wild stories, follow me! I talk about anything, and everything I make is fresh from the oven; I don’t do much of those scheduled publishing, so I might write about anything on my mind. I’m just waiting for the world to give me an opportunity where I could turn it into a living.

--

--

Harvy James Espellarga

The Freelancing Student | A Filipino writer trying to make a living through writing.