CS 371p Spring 2023 Blog #7: Harman Sandhu

Harman Sandhu
3 min readMar 6, 2023

--

What did you do this past week?

I spent most of my time preparing for three midterms, which I’m glad to say are now over. Apart from that, I took my Corvette for a spin and went for a drive at 3 A.M. on Thursday. It’s always great to get behind the wheel and let loose on the open road.

What’s in your way?

Not really anything now. Its all down to my two projects for this class and Software Engineering. If I have to answer, then the answer would be procrastination.

What will you do next week?

I will be working as efficiently as possible to finish both projects as soon as possible. Its almost Spring break and I cannot wait to go home and relax!

What did you think of Paper #8. The Integration Segregation Principle?

I really enjoyed reading the paper, it had some great insights and examples about why it’s not a good idea for subclasses to depend on interfaces they don’t use. Honestly, I can be a bit lazy when it comes to programming, and the bad example in the paper didn’t seem like a big deal to me at first glance. But after reading the explanations and examples provided in the paper, I definitely see the value in following the Integration Segregation Principle.

What was your experience of yield, closures, and Cache? (this question will vary, week to week)

The lecture was great! I feel like I have a much better understanding of iterators and heap allocated arrays now, as well as how objects are handled during assignments and destruction. Going forward, I’ll definitely keep these concepts in mind when creating new classes.

What made you happy this week?

I’m happy to say that my midterms are behind me, and to celebrate, I took my Corvette out for a drive at 3 A.M. on Thursday. It’s such a rush to hit the open road and feel the power of the engine beneath me. Its even more exciting when I can barely see anything since my headlights are 23 years old and are less powerful than smartphone flashlights. It’s one of the things that makes me happiest in life, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to do it.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?
My pick-of-the-week is the Firefox web browser, which I’ve found to be incredibly useful for working with JSON files. Firefox has a built-in JSON viewer that makes it easy to read and manipulate JSON data, which is particularly handy when working with web APIs. I’ve also found the browser’s developer tools to be quite powerful, with features like the network monitor and debugger being particularly useful for debugging web applications. Overall, I highly recommend giving Firefox a try if you’re looking for a versatile and powerful web browser for software development. This is not that relevant for this class but it is very relevant for Professor Downing’s other class!

--

--