Harman Sandhu
2 min readJan 21, 2023

CS 373 Spring 2023: Harman Sandhu

Me!

What did you do this past week?

Unfortunately, I have not done much this past week. I have basically just been trying to get my schedule back together. I did spend a couple of days learning Python, for this class and my other python class, Machine Learning 1. I also finished my assignment for Machine Learning 1, which took a surprising amount of time. That is mainly because I had to learn Python while doing the assignment.

What’s in your way?

My lack of schedule at the moment. I have been wasting a lot of time just idly waiting around when instead I should be doing productive stuff. Also, my lack of python knowledge is also slowing my down. I should probably invest in a planner, or start writing my schedule down somewhere.

What will you do next week?

Finish my programming assignments for this class and Object Oriented Programming (CS 371p)! I will also take my car to my first meet in Austin on Sunday. That’s something I really am looking forward to.

What did you think of Paper #2: Makefile?

I thought the makefile was easy to read and understand, as a lot of it we have covered in the first week of class.

What was your experience of unit tests, coverage, and IsPrime? (this question will vary, week to week)

I personally have yet to start my assignment, so at the moment, I have no experience of these three things. As it is, I assume I will have good coverage but will fail good unit tests, as my code is still the incorrect starter code.

What made you happy this week?

I went to a car meet with my own car for the first time on Saturday. That was fun. I cannot wait until next weekend to go to another meet. Also, next weekend my new head light motor should come in, so I am looking forward to replacing my old faulty one.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I have discovered that setting up tools on my local machine is not very fun. My tip of the week is that it is just much easier to use the remote UT machines.