Turn Boring Writing Into Drama

Hassaan Bassam
2 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Using a simple storytelling ingredient: change.

Here’s the problem 👇

when you write without drama, it lacks tension.

But tension is the driver of intrigue. And intrigue keeps a reader engaged.

So how to utilize change? By introducing trouble in your writing. When there’s trouble, it becomes drama. 🎭

Whether its a business doc, newsletter, or investor pitch, CHOOSE A VILLIAN! And keep the villian at the center of everything.

Example: In an actionable essay on improving decision making, I call “indecision” the devil in my intro. Indecision is the villian, and that’s whom me and my readers are fighting.

Point is, present anything in form of a story. Forget intro, middle, conclusion — It’s uncreative.

Try the timeless three-act structure:

  • The bad times (how it haunted first)
  • The magic, fight, AHA moment (how / what changed)
  • The good times (overcoming the villian)

Example: let’s write a cover letter for a Kanye West applying as a Barista at Starbucks, after being cancelled by woke people on Twitter. 😅

Dear Manager,

Fame has overshadowed my passion for connecting with people. But I fought back and rediscovered the joy of serving coffee, finding solace in simplicity. I believe Starbucks is the perfect place to embrace authenticity.

Together, we can brew moments of genuine connection and happiness. I look forward to joining the Starbucks family.

Sincerely, Kanye

Trouble: fame.
Change:
Kanye has fought it and came out strong.

There’s transformation. There’s drama.

Try this in your next piece of writing and tell me if it works.

--

--

Hassaan Bassam

Solving problems, great music, and human-centric marketing