Google Cloud Platform Security Checklist

Hassene BELGACEM
Google Cloud - Community
2 min readApr 12, 2023
Google Cloud Platform Security

As a Cloud Architect, I have established a collection of best practices to safeguard my clients’ GCP environments effectively. In a series of articles, I will present my personal compilation of GCP security best practices. I will discuss crucial security precautions, ranging from managing access controls to securing data storage, that you can implement in your GCP infrastructure to mitigate potential risks and enhance your confidence in the system’s security.

Additionally, I will provide Cloud Custodian policies that can assist in detecting and addressing these potential threats.

Throughout this series, we will cover a range of important topics, which you can explore further by clicking on each item below:

  1. Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  2. Key Management Service (KMS)
  3. Network Security
  4. Compute Engine
  5. Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE)
  6. Data Security ( Cloud SQL, Cloud Storage , BigQuery …)
  7. Cloud Logging

Conclusion

My goal is to provide you with insights and best practices that can help you significantly enhance the security of your GCP infrastructure. I hope that those article has been helpful.

The key takeaway is to remember that effectively securing your Google Cloud Platform (GCP) infrastructure requires a comprehensive approach. From Identity and Access Management (IAM) to data storage, network security, and beyond, each aspect plays a crucial role in safeguarding your resources and services.

Originally published at https://hassene.belgacem.io .

--

--

Hassene BELGACEM
Google Cloud - Community

Cloud Architect | Trainer . Here, I share my thoughts and exp on the topics like cloud computing and cybersecurity. https://www.linkedin.com/in/hassene-belgacem