how strange that we became strangers so easily

Haven Diaries
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Photo by Jakub Dziubak

Isn’t it strange how two people who once shared secrets under the stars, said “I love you” to each other, dreamed together, and understood each other without words, can end up feeling like total strangers?

I don’t want to talk to you anymore, but I keep hoping you’ll call. I don’t want to see you again, but I always look for you everywhere I go.

It’s truly strange.

I have come to terms with the fact that we are better off apart, that our love has ended.

The pain of our past and the wounds that still linger make it clear that staying was not the right choice for me. So, I forced myself to let go and move forward.

And yes, I tried to move on. Maybe I tried too hard, but surely not hard enough because, honestly, I still think of you, and there’s still a part of me that clings to the hope of hearing from you or seeing your name light up on my phone screen.

I struggle with this every day as I try to balance my desire for closure with the feeling of attachment I still have for you.

If we meet again, it will make things worse and make it harder to heal. And yet, there is a part of me that can’t help but look for you in every crowd, or in any place, hoping we will unexpectedly see each other.

It’s truly strange.

To want someone or something that will only hurt you again.

To constantly push you away and yearn for your presence at the same time.

To miserably wish for your return when there’s no chance of it happening.

Most of all, it’s truly strange how we became strangers so easily.

We are no longer the same people we once were. Our paths have broken apart in ways I never could have imagined.

There’s no anger here, though, just a deep sadness and a longing for what could have been.

Soon enough, the pain in my heart will lessen, and our memories won’t hurt as much. But for now, I’ll hold onto them, bittersweet as they are, a reminder of the love we shared. A love that, however strange, existed, and for a time, felt like forever.

--

--

Haven Diaries

Baring my soul and raging against the pain by writing something beautiful from it.